We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #41 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently for 1 night and were extremely disappointed. We had paid extra and booked a Deluxe room but on arrival found ourselves looking directly into the hotel's car park! Not at all what was advertised on the hotel's web siite where it states that "All rooms are en suite, with views of Oban Bay, or long panoramic views of town, with comprehensive facilities". On querying the category of our room we were told that the hotel had only recently been reviewed and that the room was a 'deluxe' category - there was not even a shelf in the bathroom to place your toiletries on nor cups to use when brushing your teeth!
When we asked to speak to the manager and asked if we could change rooms we were told that "...if we didn't like it we could leave..."!
The hotel rate was exclusive of breakfast and given this is rather expensive, we opted to leave in the morning and breakfast elsewhere.
We have never received such poor service and will definitely not be returning nor recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom h, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
A s demonstarted to the client clearly, the room that was allocated was the one which had been booked,a twin deluxe,the double deluxe rooms have the views over Oban bay ,and part of the view from teh twin room also has trees,and Victorain villas.
In common with other hotels in the town not all rooms have sea views,
No request was made to speak to the manager,and this is the first occasion where I felt the need to intervene on behalf of the receptiuonist due to the rude manner in which she was being spoken to,and this was why an offer was made to find alternative accomodation.
Fair critiscism will be listened to and remedied where possible,a rude and abusive ,manner will not.
Had a clear requesty for a move to a sea view room been made then an effort would have been made to accomoadte this,instead a long and never ending series of petty compalints with no substance at all to them , were made over a period of several hours,which served no purpose other than to deny service to the other satisfied customesr that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
29
104
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

After leaving Edinburgh, the first stop on our tour was Oban. We found Kings Knoll to be just acceptable. The room was clean, but not particularly nicely appointed. The bed was extremely lumpy. The breakfast was fine, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regnadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

i stayed at this lovely place for 3nights from the 27th till 30th july, the lady who cheched us in was always smiling , even though we were early , she booked us in , very fast booking in time , very friendly, oh and i apologise, im not great with names haha, room was as described, plenty space, had a wonderful sleep, and was kept clean every day, the owner was also very friendly and if any problems arise , then he would deal with them if asked , my other halk could not get the tv to work, but when we told this to the member of staff it was fixed on our return, the other half couldnt work it properly, so dont think it was tv at fault, location great, less than a 5min stroll into town , i was totally happy with my stay and will return again when i visit oban, many thanks to all the staff at the kings knoll.

Room Tip: theres a room to suit all tastes and budgets, book early to get exactly what you want,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

after traveling Scotland for a week, staying at great and very pleasant B&B's we did chose to stay at a hotel on our last 2 nights before going back home. the location was great with a nice view on the sea and harbour, but the very disappointing and frustrating part was the tv and internet connection in our room. i believe in the 21st century you can expect an undisturbed and continous signal for more than 30 seconds,even in a hotel in Oban....definitively need improvement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom h, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello Oli
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Kings Knoll.
It’s disappointing for a customer to leave ,having had issues during their stay, had you talked to a staff member ,there are certain things that could be tried regarding wi fi connection ,such as rebooting the router, and checking that the boosters have not been turned off by accident,
Of course if nothing is said till after, departure then nothing can be done to address the matter, there are also things out with our control that can affect the free wi fi connection ,such as how many are logged on ,if a lot of high bandwidth items like videos are being watched.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Start with the best bit - breakfast couldn't fault it in any way and served by cheery staff. Hotel sadly let down by housekeeping in the bedroom, carpet was covered in what looked like dog hair, cobwebs from the ceiling and broken legs to the coffee table. To top that probably the lumpiest, worn and most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Very poor quality and a big let down to a room that had obviously been recently decorated with beautifull paper and drapes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Fantastic room (#22) the first night overlooking the bay. Handy 5 minute walk into town, nice friendly helpful staff. Doesn't look great from the outside but we had no complaints during our stay - definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyons25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

stayed here for one night and have no complaints regards this hotel. We stayed in room 26 which has a huge bay window overlooking Oban -with fantastic views. The room was nice and bed really comfy. Only shower in toilet - no bath. Only gripe was that the bathroom could have been cleaner! There is a nice bar area where you can sit on a balcony in the sun, which also has views of Oban and car park. Breakfast in the morning was really nice and tasty and service from staff was just right. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 26 - Superior Room was booked and lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.3 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Property: Kings Knoll Hotel
Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing