We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exhausting - definitely not for families with young children!”

West Coast Tours - Oban
Ranked #4 of 19 Tours in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours. Our day tours to Mull, Iona and Staffa allow visitors to visit two or even three islands in one day as well as regular bus services to Tobermory and joint tickets with Duart Castle. Our City Sightseeing open-top bus tours operate in Glasgow, Oban and Bute and offer expert commentary and the ability to hop-on and off. We also operate a fast passenger ferry link between Campbeltown and Ballycastle in Northern Ireland called the Kintyre Express which offers visitors the chance to combine both the west coast of Scotland and the rugged Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exhausting - definitely not for families with young children!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm not quite sure why people like this tour so much? It's a full day (expensive) trip with only 2 hours on Iona! Most of the day is spent traveling on ferries and buses. We were rounded up on to ferries/buses as if we were cattle. Our coach had uncomfortable small seats and a toilet which was out of order. Our tour guide wasn't all that great and there wasn't much to see on Mull (no eagle sightings for us!). On the return trip from Iona there was no commentary at all. Iona itself is beautiful, but can't see much of it in only two hours. By the time the Abbey tour was finished we only had 45 mins left on the island. Not enough time to have a sit down lunch anywhere. We wanted to take a quick taxi to the other side of the island, but were told that there's only one taxi on Iona and the driver was on holiday. We grabbed quick sandwiches from a shop since the kids were starving, but there was no place to sit and eat. Iona is worth visiting but definitely don't do a day tour from Oban!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank edinburghNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    47
    18
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

By purchasing this tour at the Cal Mac terminal tourist office, we were able to combine the three island tour Bowman tour with the Grant Treshnish Isles tour which took us to Mull, Lunga with the Puffins, Staffa and Iona. We were told to bring food since would be a long time until Iona and cafe. The most amazing part of the day was Lunga! We had over 2 hours on shore, got to spend quality time with the Puffins, hike to hot rock to see thousand of Razorbills, saw a bunch of Swags and their babies and thousands of inquisitive and posing Puffins. The views on the island are beyond amazing! Most beautiful place we have ever seen!

Then off to an hour on Staffa, another breathtaking island. Would have enjoyed more time there, but so much to see!

Then a couple of hours on Iona. I wanted to go there due to all the rave reviews. It was our least favorite. The ruins of nunnery were pretty cool. The Abbey was interesting, but we are not into religious history, so wasn't a huge thrill. It was pretty, but not breathtaking like Staffa and Lunga. The white sandy beaches are nice, but not warm enough.

The drive through Mull prompted us to take our car over and spend a few days and nights exploring the island. B&B was cheaper than Oban and well worth it!

This excursion was he highlight of our month in Ireland and Scotland. A MUST do!!!! Do NOT miss Treshnish wildlife tour if it is Puffin season!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleenme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
812 reviews
393 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day but take some food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a 12 hour day and not cheap but we were blessed with good weather and thought it was good value. The day started with the regular ferry to Mull where our tour bus was waiting. The driver was excellent and kept us entertained with humour and inforrmation on the quite long journey across the island. We then joined the small Staffa ferry. There was little wind so landing was no problem. you can see the fantastic rock formations as the boat approaches the island and as soon as you have landed. Then there are two choices. Visit Fingal's cave or visit the nesting puffins. We chose the puffins. it is a significant climb up the steps to the top and a walk to the puffin cliffs. We saw the birds close up and sat enthralled for some time. Back to the boat after a 55 minute stay and off to Iona. This was early afternoon and, our first chance to buy hot food and drink, we were pleased we had brought a snack with us. After a 2 hour stay on Iona we took the regular ferry back to Mull and then coach and ferry back to Oban. we should have preferred longer an Staffa and less time on Mull. But when the puffins are gone 1 hour on Staffa is plenty. This was one of the best excursions we have ever taken but the weather in Oban is not always so good

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a must do if you in the area. You can spend an amazing day, enjoying the views and getting to know a bit more about Scotland. We were lucky with the weather and we also saw dolphins! Fantastic experience we won't forget.

Helpful?
Thank adb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A man and wife in a boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lovely, I am not a good traveller in a boat, but this was well worth the bout of panic before I got on the first ferry. Spectacular

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Tours - Oban also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to West Coast Tours - Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing