We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scottish dance night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skipinnish Ceilidh House

Skipinnish Ceilidh House
Ranked #1 of 2 Concerts & Shows in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skipinnish Ceilidh House in Oban not only offers live Scottish music shows throughout the summer, but is also a club night venue on Saturday nights and throughout the winter for locals and visitors to the area. Visit our Facebook page to see the up-to-date listings of what is on - Skipinnish Ceilidh House.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scottish dance night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went in August as a part of a tour for some Scottish music and dancing. Great band, cheap entrance fee, good atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great evening of music and dance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great band, we bought the CD. Audience participation hilarious, plenty of opportunity to join in, well, at least for us, as we'd been up Ben Nevis on the day we went.............. Would be even better if they served food, although they do allow you to get takeaways. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taynuilt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited a few times for celidhs and other events and the heat can be stiffiling , needs more ventalation or air conditioning fitted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnMacTaynuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My blood turned tartan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

FantasticSkipinnish band...bought the cd. Overwhelmed by the patriotism and good behaviour of the young Scots in the audience. Not enough room to dance comfortably, but great for a listen or some light bruising if you get on your feet. Well recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked a ceilidh night here in advance for out visit to Oban, really looking forward to a proper night of ceilidh dancing, as was advertised. That's not what we got though. We got a band who would play a couple of songs, then give us the opportunity to dance. There were, in all, 5 or 6 actual dances, 2 of which were repeated. Further, we specifically asked the band to do the Gay Gordons, which they promised to do, then succeeded in breaking that promise, preferring instead to repeat ne of the dances already done earlier.

Overall the night was gimmicky and disappointing, and while the band themselves were good, I didn't pay to see a gig and have the occasional dance, I paid to dance at a ceilidh.

So, if you're a tourist or someone who's never danced at a ceilidh before, this should be a bit of fun; a chance to learn a (very) few dances and hear some vaguely traditional-ish Scottish music and meet some people. However, if you expect an actual ceilidh, prepare to be very disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BenedictSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipinnish Ceilidh House also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Skipinnish Ceilidh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing