We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, relaxing break,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, relaxing break,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just arrived home on Tuesday after a five night break and I could not rate Cologin highly enough! The location is fantastic, just a few miles from Oban, but in a peaceful rural location. We stayed in Chalet 5 which was nice, clean and spacious and had everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. The site itself has a pub/award winning restaurant and the homemade food was out of this world. I tried a few things on the menu but what stood out most was the Cullen Skink and the fish and chips, you could taste how fresh the fish was and it beat any chippy in Oban! The staff are very friendly and bent over backwards to please, especially the girl (I didn't catch her name) from Harris who was running the bar during the day. It was a very family/dog friendly place and there is a great uphill walk into the forest where you can enjoy amazing views, on a clear day you could see Ben Cruchan. The only thing I could fault was the weather.....but hey it is Scotland lol My partner has been working in nearby Dunbeg and I will certainly be booking up again on my next visit. If you have kids, dogs or just fancy a wee rural get away with its own pub this is the place to go and the drive to Oban is also a great part of the trip!

Room Tip: We stayed at Chalet 5 which was clean and spacious with a double and twin room. Living/dinning area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 times over 30 years ago as it was a wonderful place to bring small children and now back with grandchildren, The cabins have been rebuilt and were very comfortable and spacious. We were in number 15 and visited number 16 which does have a leather bed setee which is uncomfortable but the seating in 15 is ok. I advise you to take your own travel cot with you as Cologins are musty at the moment and need a good airing.
The staff at the Barn are very helpful and all of our party enjoyed the food which is reasonably priced and very well cooked. I would advise you to prebook for your first night if you intend to eat as it was busy on frid and Sat but they did provide a takeaway for late arrivals which was much appreciated. They are also "kid" friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a long weekend with 3 other people. We found the reception to be warm and welcoming. The chalet was immaculate and well set out. The kitchen had everything you could need and a huge fridge freezer. We didn't eat at or visit the barn on this occasion but have done in previous visit and found it to be great. There was only a few things that I can say I would change. The sofa in the living room was a leather sofa bed and was very uncomfortable. We had to put pillows and cushions on it before sitting. The entry road has some big pot holes and when it's raining you can't really see them. Thought I had damaged my car at one point. These are small things and can't take away the excellent location and value for money in these chalets. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faigy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on an itison deal and i believe its changed a bit since SheffieldClyde`s review as we found our lodge which was number 16 to be very pleasant nice kitchen and bathroom very clean and two good bedrooms and no smell of damp nor any sign of it. We did have a problem with the sitting area or lounge the settee was so uncomfortable and it only had one other chair just as bad so if we had family with us there were not enough seating in that area, To be fair to the owners we never complained so they were never in a position to put it right for us but we had a lovely stay in a lovley area and the price we paid we could not have complained anyway as it was worth every penny, if your looking for a palace then pay palace prices if your looking for a reasonable priced break then i`d recommend it as a must, As in the summer it will be more expensive, Oban itself is a great place to visit always.
P.S We were unlucky not to experience the pleasure or hospitality of the barn as this was closed season but i`m sure it would have been a pleasant one and we will return again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

stayed here for a week never again. The place had damp on the walls and water dripping off the ceilings. it smelt fusty and damp as soon as we walked in, we went to complain about the damp and all they did was turn up with a tin of paint and painted over it. although they had flat screen tv and sky you certainly didnt use them you couldnt stop in the place long enough.!! wouldnt let my worst enemy stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SheffieldClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
2.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges

Property: Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Address: Lerags Glen | Kilbride, Oban PA34 4SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom 'Outer Hebridean' chalets, two bedroom 'Inner Hebridean' lodges, Cologin Farmhouse and Cruachan Cottage are all nestled around the old farmstead at Cologin and the Barn Bar rustic bar and restaurant. Less than 3 miles from Oban with free fishing, way marked forest walks, play park and duck pond, this family owned and run self catering complex has been welcoming guests for over 35 years with many families having enjoyed holidays here for several generations. Pets are welcome and kids can be kids with plenty of space to explore and play. The lodges and chalets are all well equipped for 3 star standard, the farmhouse and Cruachan are 4 star and all properties are well maintained and decorated annually! We are not offering luxury - we are not that sort of place and never will be. You may find duck poo outside your chalet door and we don't have street lighting (great views of starry skies!) or Tarmac roads so don't come and stay if you want city style. What we do offer is good value, family friendly accommodation in a great location with easy access to Oban and a great pub and restaurant on site. You will sleep well (we are quiet and tranquil) and you will return home relaxed and refreshed. We look forward to welcoming you to Cologin. We don't feature regularly on review sites because most of our customers are return guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologin Country Chalets And Lodges Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing