We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemon sole that melts!”

Manor House Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $54
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our complete dinner menu changes daily. You are assured of an excellent choice of fine dishes featuring local meats. Seafood and produce. While the menu is presented as a 5 course prix fixe, if your appetite is less, each course is offered a la carte.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lemon sole that melts!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

As always a wonderful - gastronomic delight! Seriously the lemon sole was 'Devine'- I have never tasted anything so good. Perfect.

Waitress was lovely chatty and friendly but efficient and discreet. Gregor (the Manager) is wonderful so nice and helpful but very professional. A peaceful setting with a great atmosphere - leaves you feeling very rested and chilled!

Will of course return - searching diary for excuses to book again!!

Excellent value for money,again as always, to Gregor and his great team with thanks :). This man should get a big Christmas bonus.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    13
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great meal, excellent wine list, and super service. My birthday meal was first class as is this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Oban Dining Experience !!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our third time dining at the Manor House Hotel Restaurant and it did not disappoint, the food was excellent. The dining room is really nice old worldly and has a lovely atmosphere. We had the set 5 course menu and every course was excellent and beautifully presented, each course had a nice portion size so you can manage the 5 courses. The service was faultless and loved that the coffee and petite fours was served in a comfy lounge with a real fire. The only thing I did not love was the bar, it could do with bit of decoration and lacked a bit of atmosphere but overall loved the whole experience and will definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views, Food and Staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have visited here for coffee and shortbread on numerous occasions. Cafetiere for two gives you at least two cups of coffee each and the shortbread is to die for and all for a VERY reasonable charge. We had lunch there a couple of weeks ago - open sandwiches - and it was fab. Quite a sizeable helping so the next time we will have one to share. Hope to visit some time soon and stay over so that we can sample what we are sure will be a wonderful dinner. Staff are always so very pleasant and the general atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxing.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmaBroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience, fine food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Oban last week and had lunch here with our relatives who live nearby. The service was excellent and the atmosphere in the bar peaceful. Nice view over the bay. Three of us had fish - two had deep fried haddock and I had the sole fillets. We all felt that the portions were very small even though it was lunchtime and not a main evening meal. The plain ice cream is superb (probably homemade) and an alternative to the more expensive desserts. Not to be missed. Car parking is easy and off road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Manor House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing