We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and safe haven.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Anne's Guest House
Ranked #88 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived in Oban after a terrible journey! It was snowing and our car ran off the road. We called ahead to explain why we would be late for checking in. To our relief it was no problem and Lenny made us feel very welcome when we arrived after midnight. We felt we had arrived at a warm and safe place after the storm outside. We had a sleep in the next morning to recover from our journey. Coffee was provided in the room, and when we ventured out Oban looked very pretty in the fresh snow. We stayed for 2 days and liked St Annes very much. The house is lovely and comfortable. Very good location and close to the town. Wifi was free. Parking was in the street and no charge over night. We were happy with our stay and the price was very reasonable for all that was on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Araceliemre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

St. Annes Guest House.
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. It is always so nice when our efforts are appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and felt we offered value for money. Oban is an all year round destination, and looks just as lovely in the winter as it does in the summer, even if the weather can be a bit challenging! St Annes management and staff always try to be welcoming and make our guests feel comfortable. We hope you will stay with us again.
Kind regards, St Annes Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed twice in St Annes on our travels to the islands of Scotland. Its very convenient for the ferry port, and very central. Everything is within easy walking distance. Our ferry was delayed by bad weather on our second visit and we didnt get in until after midnight! We phoned ahead to explain, and Elaine very kindly made sure that she was on hand to make sure we could check in at that late hour. We thought the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable and very reasonable. Oban can be very expensive. Breakfast was well cooked both mornings, we had a late one after our late arrival, which was appreciated. I would definately recommend St. Annes, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

St Annes Guest House
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to say kind things! We are very happy when our efforts are appreciated by our guests. Both myself, and the staff do try to make our guests feel welcome, and make sure the rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for saying our prices were reasonable. Again, we are trying to offer value for money, and are very happy when our guests recognise this.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Best Regards, St Annes Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

we stayed at st annes 1 night ,room booked through Visit Scotland tourist information office in Oban,the girl in the office spoke to the landlady over the phone ,they only did continental breakfast which we accepted,On arrival a neighbour let us into the house and asked for payment,the chip and pin was not working so she she said we could pay the landlady later. When we returned to our room later in the evening there was a note under the door saying that since WE HAD NOT BOOKED BREAKFAST AND SINCE NONE OF THE OTHER GUESTS WERE HAVING IT A CAFE UP THE ROAD WAS RECOMMENDED!!A young barman from a local pub was there in the morning to take our money,he had to go the pub for change.At this stage we had already booked into another b and b(great-Dana Villa-would recommend it)AT no time did we see the landlady, also the room was small, no wash-basin in the toilet, no soap etc, tv not working,(we had initially booked into another bnb owned by the same person but could not find it and had dificulty hearing the owner over the phone,we had then went to the booking office. We would not recommend this b and b-the whole experience was awful and quite upsetting.PS -THE LOCATION IS EXCELLENT .

Room Tip: look at reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest, I am sorry you had a problem with your booking which was arranged through Visit Scotland. The reason we removed our business from VS is because of a series bookings like yours which were poorly arranged. We did not realise at the time that they were changing their booking systems, which caused all sorts of problems. Guests were not being advised of check in times or breakfast arrangements. Our check in time is 4pm till 9pm, or by pre arrangement. Unfortunately you arrived at 12 noon when the rooms were not prepared, and reception staff were not on duty. You had not booked or paid for breakfast, and this was clearly stated on your booking form which VS gave you and e mailed us a copy. The check in times were also printed on your form. Our policy is to take payment for your stay and breakfast bookings at check in, then guests are free to leave in the morning without the bother of having to check out. As you went out shortly after your arrival, and still had not returned by midnight, I was unable to check you in or discuss your breakfast requirements( but suspected that you would not be willing to pay extra for it as you were adamant with the staff that it was included) As there were no other breakfasts booked for the morning, I took the decision not to prepare for breakfasts, and left you a note accordingly. I had also left several messages on your phone over the course of the evening advising you that you had not booked breakfast, but I did not receive a reply. To avoid dissapointment, it is essential to read the terms and conditions of your booking which should always be provided if you book online or through an agent.
Best Regards, St Annes Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived at 3.30pm,the check-in time on line stated 4pm,yet no-body turned up to let us in till 4.45pm,with an un-friendly welcome.The phone no. on the door only had an answer machine,+ when you've been travelling for hours its not ideal to be sat outside,cold,waiting to get inside.
The room was clean,but tatty,the front was broken on the tv + when we eventually worked-out how to turn it on,there were no channels worth watching,+ the remote controls didn't work.
There was no hot water till late in the afternoon,so we couldn't have a bath or even a wash,only a shower.
There was nothing stating on-line that the bathroom was shared,i would deffinately not have booked had i known.
The shower doors didn't close properly,and the toilet seat was hanging off.
Also,under the impression that the price included breakfast,which the ad led me believe,was charged extra at an un-affordable price,+ made the price of room only more rediculous.
I will be extremely picky where i choose to stay with my family from now on,im just glad that this guesthouse did not ruin our lovely time in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 132steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbour1, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay at St Annes. I believe we apologised at the time for the late arrival of the receptionist who had a problem with a sick child. Sometimes thes things happen.
The rooms have TV with freeview chanells and can sometime be complicated to turn on because of the requirement for a digital box. We do provide instructions for thes beside the TV, or are happy to personally come to the room and demonstrate.
The showers are electric so hot water is always readily available.
Our online booking site clearly states that the prices quoted are for the room, and then gives the option of booking breakfast if required at an extra price.
Customers are advise to check their booking confirmation carefully to check what is included in the room price, and our reception times.
Best Regards

St Annes Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in St Anne's last night and found no problems at all. We had a double room at £55 room only and it suited us just fine. We arrived at 4pm as this was the check in time we were told and were greeted by a friendly enough lady who checked us in. The room itself was fairly basic and there was only 1 cup for tea and no shower gel but to be honest, that didn't really bother us and wouldn't put us off staying there again. The location is perfect as it's only a few minutes walk to the town. The only downside was parking as we spent a while trying to get a space at the local swimming pool as this was where we were advised to park by the company we booked through. We ended up paying and displaying on the street behind the B&B, which was fine as it is free after 6pm and on Sunday's.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

St Annes.
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. I am glad you were happy with your stay and felt our facilites were good for the price you paid. We do always strive to offer value for money. Our rooms should always have shower gel and a fully stocked tea and coffee tray. I think we were able to put it right when you brought it to our attention. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to put it right.
Parking is plentiful in the area. On street beside the house, plus 2 car parks at the top of the street which are free overnight, and the one at the swimming pool which is free at all times.
Best Regards, St Annes Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I booked this Guest House and when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly man (from next door) who helped us to our rooms and carried our bags and advised my other half where he could park the car free of charge. Our travelling party had 2 rooms 1 room was a double with shower & W/C and sink in the room. The bedding and bathroom was clean. Our room was on the top floor we had a 2yr old toddler traveling with us and when we arrived the travel cot was set up with a cute little duvet & kids pillow. Although my toddler didnt sleep in that he slept in the single bed. Our Double bed was really comfy and the towels and bedding were really clean (not ironed- but i dont iron my bedding neither so this didnt bother me but made me laugh cause it would have bothered my mum!!!) the bathroom which was next door was very clean and spacious. it offered Shower gel, hand soap, nappy bags etc. The room was ideal for a night or two stay. We didnt have breakfast as i'm not a lover of Continental breakfast and that was all thats is avail. We found a lovely cafe a couple minutes walk away and had full on fry up! yum yum. The man who showed us up to the room when i asked him to recomend a place where we could go for evening meal with a toddler he was very helpful in suggesting places. Although in Oban it doesnt seem to be very child friendly in the pubs and alot of things dont open on a sunday morning in feb.... this maybe different in peak season.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor each have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LOxley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Booked a family room for one night, the cost was £110 room only. On arrival we were met at the front gate with a hideous effigy that scared our 2 boys to death, followed by a foreign young man with limited English who stated that the owner was out but he could show us the room.
For the first time since I was 7 years old, i stayed in a room without ensuite facilities! We had to venture across the landing to use the toilet, shower and bath!
The room smelt musty and the bedding was dated to say the least. The family room consisted of a double and single bed and what can only be described as a hard low shelf, this was the 2nd single bed!
The TV was so big and so old our son, who is 6 asked what it was!
The following morning, we had to pay extra for breakfast, £8 per person and no discount for the children, one of whom is 2 years old. I have never seen so many tables squashed into a small terraced front room in my life. You could not comfortably move past another table without the occupant having to move in. The cereal table was next to ours so we felt like the whole room was surrounding us at times. People were also arriving from other guest houses and having to wait for a table to come available. Service was via foreign young men again who certainly had not had a wash within the last 2 days and when asked for anything were not very helpful at all. They seemed very purturbed when asked to fill the small jug of milk up, which was expected to be shared between all the tables for cereal, coffee and tea and children's milk!!
We requested 3 cooked breakfasts and 1 continental. I have never seen a breakfast like it in my life! Very little of it and what was on the plate was vile! The continental breakfast arrived 10mins later and consisted of 1 small croissant on a saucer!
Not once did we see anyone who could be described as an 'Owner'.
If we had looked at this website before booking this we would have known better. It was bank holiday weekend in August 2011 and wanted to extend our holiday for 1 more day following a wonderful stay in a cottage where we fell in love with Oban and just didnt want to leave.
But after our stay here, we should have set off home immediately, it would have been more pleasant to stay in our car for the night!!

Room Tip: Just Dont!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#38 of 94 in Oban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corriemar Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Anne's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anne's Guest House

Address: St. Annes 6 Victoria Place Dunollie Road | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $50 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Anne's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Annes Guest House accommodation in Oban offers high quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Each year we enjoy welcoming visitors from around the world who come to experience for themselves the magical, dramatic beauty of Oban and the Argyll coast, the ancient seat of the Kings of Scotland which is not only steeped in history, beautiful scenery and great culinary delights, but has leisure pursuits and entertainment to suit all tastes. St Annes is a Victorian Town House built in 1880 and has large airy rooms which retain many of the original Victorian features. St Annes is very close to the Town Centre and many local amenities are close by. The Atlantis Leisure Centre, The Corran Halls,Tennis Courts, McCaigs Tower, the Cathedral and local Cinema are all within easy walking distance. We are also conveniently situated for buses,trains and ferries. Parking is available in the street, and the pay and display car park at the end of the road which is free between 6pm and 9am. The Guest House has seven letting rooms, all comfortably furnished, with colour T.V. And complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Anne's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Anne's Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing