We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, well-organised and efficient service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gramarvin Guest House
Ranked #23 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant, well-organised and efficient service”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Good location and value, clean and welcoming with an excellent breakfast, which we selected the night before.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnniMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August 2011 after reading trip advisor reviews.

Was pleasantly surprised when arrived at the b&b. It was bright, extremely clean and all furnishings seemed relatively new.

Off street parking is available, and guests are free to come and go as they please which is rare for a b&b.

Breakfast was nice and fresh, served and made by cheerful owner Mary.

Any negatives would be that there is no view, but price reflects this. Also check out is early at 10am.

Would recommend if you're looking for a reasonable priced b&b in Oban.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Needinfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in July 2011 and found the accomodations very comfortable and the breakfasts very good. The visit was a very good value, and it is located in walking distance of Oban. We recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy58702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This B&B was fabulous! The owners were very helpful and genuinely cared about about their guests. Gramarvin was within walking distance of the downtown and ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This B&B was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Very clean and tidy, great breakfast, good location only a 5 minute walk into town, very nice room and parking available. The woman running the B&B was really helpfully and attentive. Other than recommending a few places to visit, was extremely accommodating when we had to leave early one morning for a boat trip she went out of her way and started breakfast early to make sure we got something to eat before leaving.

Staying here felt very comfortable and relaxing and would recommend this place to anyone. As regular visitors to Oban I have no doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My hubby and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in "Gramarvin". It is the cleanest and most friendly guest house we have stayed in. Mary's open and friendly ways impress right away. Her rooms have been kitted out with everything you need. Hairdryer, warm water always, ample towels, good quality toiletries, excellent hospitality tray with top brand coffee and tea. Warm room to return to in the evening! Nice touches like paper tissues on bedside tables. The decor throughout is immaculate and soft furnishings are very tasteful.
Mary's breakfasts are second to none! The fresh frut on offer every morning is of top quality and So........... fresh. All beautifully prepared and presented. Kiwi, banana. melon, grapefruit and fresh STRAWBERRIES! A good choice of cereals and fruit juice and then whatever you want for breakie from an egg done any way you want to a full Scottish breakfast . My husband especially liked the Stornaway black pudding. The bacon was delicious, not a bit of grease in sight.. A five star hotel would go some to beat Mary's food.
The location of Gramarvin is very handy for the shops which are a three minute flat walk away. The ferrys are only about 10 mins walk. There are lots of eateries very close bye. We used the Rowantree Hotel which is a 3 minute walk away and has the most fantastic haddock.
Oban itself is a great base for visiting many interesting places. We took a ferry ride to Mull which sails past some beautiful scenery . We visited Lochgilphead and Kilmartin which is steeped in history. The Oban museum (which is free) shows a good video that takes you on a journey of all the interesting places you can visit from Oban.
We had a wonderful break, in a fantastic guest house that we will be recommending to all our friends. Nothing is too much trouble for Mary!

Room Tip: Them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jintykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

the nicest and cleanest b&b I have ever stoped at the breakfasts where lovely and well cooked mary was agreat host and very friendly .would highly recomend it. hope to stop there again if I am that way. MANY THANKS.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejean54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
0.0 mi away
Raniven Guest House
Raniven Guest House
#32 of 93 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hawthornbank Guest House
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramarvin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramarvin Guest House

Property: Gramarvin Guest House
Address: Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gramarvin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gramarvin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramarvin Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing