We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Room 9 - CLOSED

Room 9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A hidden gem of a restaurant. Friendly staff, great food, good value. One of my must visits when in Oban.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boxercollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a meal at this small, intimate restaurant for the one night we were staying in Oban based on the good reviews of other contributors.
I'm glad to say that those reviews were right.
The food is excellent!
Service is efficient and friendly.
We had a Stornoway black pudding and brie starter (highly recommended), and for mains I had chicken on chive mash with cheddar cream sauce whilst the wife had salmon wrapped in parma ham with garlic sauce. Beautifully presented and wonderful to eat.
No room left for dessert (alas).
At less than £40 (with a drink each), it is very reasonably priced considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyritchie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food & service.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walked down the hill from the Thornloe Guest House for dinner. Wonderful accommodation of my dairy allergy; halibut with crawfish risotto. That and a nice whisky with my wife made a great evening. Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lippert1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top quality food that's easy on your wallet”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A small cosy family restaurant serving top quality Scottish food. All of our food was delicious including the special (duck with crispy black pudding fritters) which was a treat. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pampered_Chick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“For an intimate setting”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely small restaurant with deliciously prepared food. We had a friendly welcome and enjoyed a great rapport with some other guests. Fortunately we visited early on a saturday evening and managed to get a table but I would recommend booking. Both the fish I had and my wife`s chicken were delicious and very reasonably priced complimented with a crispy Pinot Grigot.Not ideal for large parties but ideal for romantics.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18634Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Room 9 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing