We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room 9 - CLOSED

Room 9
Cuisines: British, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Darwen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a meal at this small, intimate restaurant for the one night we were staying in Oban based on the good reviews of other contributors.
I'm glad to say that those reviews were right.
The food is excellent!
Service is efficient and friendly.
We had a Stornoway black pudding and brie starter (highly recommended), and for mains I had chicken on chive mash with cheddar cream sauce whilst the wife had salmon wrapped in parma ham with garlic sauce. Beautifully presented and wonderful to eat.
No room left for dessert (alas).
At less than £40 (with a drink each), it is very reasonably priced considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyritchie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food & service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walked down the hill from the Thornloe Guest House for dinner. Wonderful accommodation of my dairy allergy; halibut with crawfish risotto. That and a nice whisky with my wife made a great evening. Loved it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lippert1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top quality food that's easy on your wallet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A small cosy family restaurant serving top quality Scottish food. All of our food was delicious including the special (duck with crispy black pudding fritters) which was a treat. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pampered_Chick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For an intimate setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely small restaurant with deliciously prepared food. We had a friendly welcome and enjoyed a great rapport with some other guests. Fortunately we visited early on a saturday evening and managed to get a table but I would recommend booking. Both the fish I had and my wife`s chicken were delicious and very reasonably priced complimented with a crispy Pinot Grigot.Not ideal for large parties but ideal for romantics.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 18634Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Put it at the top of your list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went along here on Saturday night and was hugely impressed.

It's not the biggest of venues - I'd guess they could maybe seat around 20-25 at any one time at most - but it wasn't at all claustrophobic. It was busy without being mobbed when we were in on Saturday, so there was a nice wee buzz about the place.

The menu is fairly eclectic but with an emphasis on local produce. We both had scallops to start, with a cauliflower puree. They were superb and, with 3 king scallops in the portion priced at £6.95, very reasonably priced.

I had the rib-eye as a main, with a wild mushroom sauce. Both the steak and the sauce were magnificent and the portions were generous. My partner had the sole stuffed with crayfish and again, the freshness and quality of the ingredients really shone - a fantastic dish. There was maybe a wee bit too much tarragon in the sauce for my taste, but nothing that would spoil the dish.

I was the only one greedy enough and with room for dessert, and had sticky toffee pudding. A huge slab of it. I'm staying away from the scales for a while! Oh, yeah - cheeseboard, too (that was shared, honest!)

Service was great - really friendly and welcoming; attentive without being intrusive and took the time to listen to preferences and make recommendations. For example - my partner doesn't like butter; she was advised to miss out on one of the cheeses on the cheeseboard because it has a very buttery texture. Great customer service; great product knowledge.

So - six courses, a couple of aperitifs, a bottle of red, a couple of glasses of white, some mineral water and coffees for just under £100. Great value for money for the quality of food and service on offer. It's a wee bit off the beaten track (ie if you were visiting Oban, you wouldn't walk past the front door if you just stuck to the Esplanade or the main drag) but it's only a few yards up the hill from the main street - and well worth the journey.

If you're dining out in Oban, I'd strongly recommend that you visit Room 9.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Room 9 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing