We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and hospitality. Good facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great welcome and hospitality. Good facilities.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Trish gave us a wonderful welcome and made us feel at home immediately. We were lucky to get room 3 with views over Oban harbour and out to the Isle of Mull. The room is not the largest - and the en-suite certainly isn't - but both have everything you need in a bedroom and bathroom and it is all set out very nicely and cleanly.

Oban is hilly once you move away from the sea front and Failte is a steep 10 minute walk up from the town centre. On street and limited private parking are very welcome meaning you can easily walk into town to enjoy the facilities - including tours of the distillery!

The breakfast is a multi-course extravaganza cooked by Mike who does an excellent job. The components are local and fresh and it all presented very nicely with endless fresh brewed coffee.

We ended up here as our usual B&B was away on holiday. I think we've found a new place to call home in Oban. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for number 3 as it's the only one with views to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind and quick review!
It was a pleasure to have you staying at Failte and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Mike and I would certainly look forward to accommodating you again the next time you need a stay in Oban.
With regard to having a small ensuite you may prefer our Room 2 which has a larger ensuite - not a sea view however but it does overlook the garden at the back of the house.
I hope your journey home was good and that you didn't encounter too much of the storm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
123
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been to Oban many times in the past. On our last visit we stumbled upon the Failte B&B. we enjoyed the gracious hospitality of Trish and her husband that we wanted to stay there again this time too. We were not disappointed. We had a lovely stay. Our room was in the front of the house overlooking the town of Oban and the harbor with a breathtaking panorama. Breakfast was delicious. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empress2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Failte and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return stay with us.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the view from your room - it really is lovely and something I try not to take for granted!
Mike and I would certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Trish welcomed us warmly, even though we were a few hours early. It was the first day of our trip, and our trans-Atlantic flight left us in need of a nap. The wonderful, comfortable room was quick remedy to that problem. Trish is very friendly and charming, and her recommendations and directions are top-notch. Mike is an excellent cook, and breakfasts were wonderful. He helped us have a realistic idea of how far we could reasonable drive in a day. If we return to Oban, we will certainly stay at Failte again. The view over the town and harbor is lovely.
It is a quick walk to the main part of town, a little slower coming back as it is uphill. Hence the great view!

Room Tip: Room 3 faces the town and harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You were most definitely in need of a nap when you arrived and I'm glad that Failte was able to provide quiet & relaxed facilities for you to do this.
Mike and I would look forward to being able to accommodate you again on any future visits to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The night we spent in this Bed and Breakfast was very pleasant .. The double bedroom is nice and the owners are lovely. they are also really good cooker .. The breakfast was so delicious! We really want to thank you a lot for our sojourn .. All the best..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JGD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - even if it was only a short visit.
We would look forward to accommodating you in the future for hopefully a longer stay.
I hope the rest of your weekend was enjoyable and that you managed to see some sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The place had opened fairly recently when we visited but already it was on top of things, our hosts were charming and very hospitable. The room was lovely, clean and cosy. The breakfast was good too. We happily walked up to the place from the train station in about 10 minutes, but the hill is quite steep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaFishcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I would look forward to welcoming you back to Failte the next time you are in Oban.
I hope your trip to the Isle of Mull was also enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Failte for two nights after leaving Glasgow, Trish was exceptionally friendly and helpful - when she recommends a restaurant make sure you heed her advice, both of them were superb. In fact one thing we noticed after a twenty year absence form Scotland was the tremendous improvement in the quality of accommodation and food. She even provides menus so you get an idea of what to order.

The guesthouse is an easy walk to Oban and the ferry wharf, so please do a day trip to Mull and Iona - great day.

The breakfasts were first class and I really enjoyed the haggis. Will stay again when we return, but not in another 20 years.

Paul and Ruth

Room Tip: Try and get the front room with the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you stay with us.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed Mikes breakfasts - I will be nice to him and tell him !!
We look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in Scotland - hopefully before 20 more years pass!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Failte B&B. We had a suite in the front of the house with a stunning view. Mike cooked a wonderful breakfast, including many delicious homemade jams. Trish was very friendly, and we enjoyed chatting over breakfast. We walked into town from the B&B, great spot. Very comfortable bed with nice bed linens and bath towels. Thanks so much, we hope to return for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you.
Mike and I would look forward to accommodating you again the next time you visit Scotland .
Come and stay for longer - and try some more jams!!
I hope you had a good journey home and that your chef is still enjoying his weekends off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Bed & Breakfast

Property: Failte Bed & Breakfast
Address: Failte Rockfield Road, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Failte Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beds and delicious Breakfasts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Failte Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Failte Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing