We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if travelling alone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

My original plan had been to book a room in a backpackers hostel but I checked the Failte on a recommendation and found they were actually cheaper!
Very friendly and hospitable without being overbearing and easy walking distance to the bay (if you don't mind a bit of a climb up the hill on the way back)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Maybe see you again if you are on another Kayak experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Failte Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 244 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nous avons réservé par hasard dans ce B&B et nous sommes très bien tombés. Cette magnifique maison victorienne est située sur les hauteurs d'Oban, à moins de 10mn à pieds du centre. On peut stationner gratuitement dans l'allée ou devant la maison. Nous avions une chambre avec vue sur le port, king size bed très confortable, petite salle de bains privative avec wc.
Le petit déjeuner est excellent et préparé avec soins, il y a tout un choix de thés et de confitures maison. Trish n'hésite pas à aller chercher son dictionnaire pour traduire le nom d'un fruit qui m'était inconnu. Elle est très disponible pour ses hôtes, donne des conseils de visites et d'itinéraires. Accueil et séjour parfaits.

We booked this room whithout knowing it, and we were very lucky. This beautiful victorian house is on Oban heights, less than 10 mn walk from center town. It's easy to park the car free in the garden or in the street close to the house.
We had a beautiful bedroom with harbor view. Private little bathroom with toilets, and a wonderful king size bed so comfortable.
Breakfast is really great, with a large amount of home made jam, and many teas. Trish didn't hesitate to look for the dictionnary and explane me the name of a fruit I didn't know.
She is a really welcoming, advices you for visiting or finding a restaurant ( and the way to go by car).
Great journey. Failte is a right name for this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afromlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities at Failte.
I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed one day and we really liked Failte B&B! Very cosy room, comfortable, excellent breakfast and very welcome host and hostess! More than recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guabiraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBumble, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Failte at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have spent 2 wonderful visits at Failte in Oban. Mike and Trish Wilson are the perfect host and hostess, making us so welcome. A real home from home. The location is very convenient for all local attractions and has commanding views over the harbour towards Mull. The offstreet parking is a bonus. The bedrooms are very well presented and the breakfast are expertly cooked and presented. As locals there helpful advise on places of interest filled in the spaces that the information brochures omitted. We will certainly return and highly recommend this place to all our friends. Thank you Mike and Trish for true Highland hospitalitry.

Room Tip: Any room on the front will give you a view to remember.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIGER1tiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Convenient and attractive location, delightful room, spotless, comfortable, wonderful view, excellent breakfast, quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast choice excellent, promptly and expertly cooked, and Mike & Trish's hospitality outstanding. As well as a warm welcome, they know the area extremely well, so advised the best trips, even advising on the best days for sea trips. Also the best local restaurants, bars and activities. Like having a first rate free travel guide on call.
It helped us make the best of this wonderful area.
We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stopped at Oban on our way North for one night (should have made it more).
It is the perfect spot, you can walk into the town and the the views from the Guest House of the harbour are fantastic, the bedrooms (two doubles we had) were superb, even had a small fridge for my beer. The Breakfast was delicious, the the hosts Trish and Mike could not of been friendlier.
We stopped at 5 four star and one 3 Star, while we were in Scotland and Failte was has good as any of the four star, better than one of them and a lot better than the 3 star we stopped at.
We will be going back. SCOTISH TOURIST BOARD, WHY IS THIS NOT FOUR STAR!!!!!!

Room Tip: Both doubles are lovely rooms, but only one has a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greeny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A really lovely guest house. Warm and friendly, clean and tidy, all the trimmings!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tripavisored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Bed & Breakfast

Address: Failte Rockfield Road, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $110 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Failte Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beds and delicious Breakfasts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Failte Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Failte Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing