We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good gluten free meal”
Review of The Olive Garden

The Olive Garden
Ranked #19 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Olive Garden restaurant is situated right on Obans busy Railway pier, the transport hub of the town. At the heart of The Olive Garden is the kitchen, which is exactly as we think it should be. With an open hatch allowing guests to watch our team of chefs in action, you can see the passion and care which goes into each and every plate as your food is lovingly hand prepared and cooked fresh in front of you using only the finest locally sourced and authentically imported ingredients.We offer a wide selection of Italian and Mediterranean dishes in a relaxing, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Able to cater for anything from a romantic dinner for two in a cosy corner to parties of up to 100, The Olive Garden is the ideal venue for any occasion. Children are more than welcome, and we are able to offer half portions and gluten free options on request.We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good gluten free meal”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was very pleased to find a restaurant which could offer delicious gluten free food. I had the fillet steak stroganoff pasta dish which was superb. I was thrilled to have the gluten free lemon cheesecake. My only criticism was the raspberry sauce was a little artificial. However this did not affect my enjoyment. Service was excellent and the environment very pleasant. We are on holiday here and will definitely return one day this week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Olive Garden, Oban.

Offering a good selection of gluten free alternatives is very important to us, and something which our Head Chef understands well having a child with a sensitivity. We strive to provide real, tasty food, where possible the exact same dish as on our regular menu, only with gluten free ingredients, so that no one has to compromise on taste - after all, nobody wants to eat cardboard!

Thank you again for your review, and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    120
    56
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time and time again”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Since finding this restaurant I have had dinner there every time I am in Oban. It is great for single travellers - you can sit as long as you like, the staff are very helpful and willing, and you don't feel particularly conspicious as a lone diner. Last time I was there I left a book behind - they are sending it on. How kind is that! Food's good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavinia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. The whole team are thrilled that you keep on coming back to us, and that you obviously enjoy it when you do. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and hope that the ending of that book was good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yummy!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice food and good service! Big portions. Child friendly. We didn't book but we ate probably before the rush and it was during the week so less busy. Really enjoyed our meal here and would eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review - we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Olive Garden.

Good service, big portions, nice food, and child friendly. What more can we say? Fantastic.

Thank you, and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Touch of the Mediterranean”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great food and service here, lots of tables so no problem finding one. There is also nice soft seating area for a quiet drink which adds to it's appeal.

Easy access for disabled diners and accessible toilet facilites too.
On a pleasant day diners can enjoy the sea air at outdoor tables.
Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Olive Garden.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for highlighting some of the things we are proud of - in designing our restaurant one of the big factors was that it should be easily accessible to wheelchairs and push chairs. The whole place is ramped, with plenty of turning space and places to store chairs and buggys, and the disabled and baby change facilities are excellent as far as we are told.

Our out door tables are a big hit with locals and tourists alike, and really add something to the pier, especially when the sun is shining. And our soft seating area in front of the bar is a great place to relax after a meal or just to have a drink and take in the atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you ever return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent fixed price menu”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

superb food superb price superb service we booked a table and ordered our food at 3pm arrived at 5pm and because we had train to catch at 6pm staff where swift courteous professional in every aspect a real gem

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
"superb food superb price superb service" - Wow. Thank you so much!

We are so pleased that your visit was so enjoyable - our Express Menu at £6.95 is, in our opinion, unbeatable value, and your review illustrates that you don't have to sacrifice on taste and service to enjoy good value. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Garden also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing