We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Garden”
Review of The Olive Garden

The Olive Garden
Ranked #20 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Olive Garden restaurant is situated right on Obans busy Railway pier, the transport hub of the town. At the heart of The Olive Garden is the kitchen, which is exactly as we think it should be. With an open hatch allowing guests to watch our team of chefs in action, you can see the passion and care which goes into each and every plate as your food is lovingly hand prepared and cooked fresh in front of you using only the finest locally sourced and authentically imported ingredients.We offer a wide selection of Italian and Mediterranean dishes in a relaxing, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Able to cater for anything from a romantic dinner for two in a cosy corner to parties of up to 100, The Olive Garden is the ideal venue for any occasion. Children are more than welcome, and we are able to offer half portions and gluten free options on request.We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Olive Garden”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not a great fan of Italian food so this was a eye opener the roasted pepper soup was the best soup I have had in a long while. The lobster main course was fantastic my wife had the chicken which i help finish, it was such a big plate, was also great. I would recommend this as a first class eatery if you visit Oban. The staff were excellent. Good value for Money,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Here at The Olive Garden we are thrilled that you had your eyes opened to how wonderful Italian food can be!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and share your fantastic experience with other users. Great service, delicious food, big portions... looks like we got it right!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    123
    58
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we had a very disappointing meal, the sarters were drowned in olive oil and the main dish of seafood risotto was a large plate of congealed stodge, the chicken lasagne had very overcooked chicken in it.Probably won't go back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westcoasters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
From our private messages, you have told me that the starter you had was the Prawn and Crayfish Bruschetta, a dish which does not have any olive oil in it - I have discussed this with the chef, and his only thought is that you did not like the salad dressing used on your garnish. All the kitchen team have been reminded not to over-dress the salad as a precaution.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your risotto - each one is made to order and as such cannot understand how it could be congealed as this only happens when a dish is left to sit for some time and cool. However, our meals are all served in plates that are hot (as witnessed by the waiting staff who all have to use thick cloths to carry them) which prevent cooling, and served as soon as they are out of the pan. Perhaps it was sitting on your table for a while whilst you ate it - it is a rather large serving - and started to cool? If so we would have happily reheated it for you mid-meal.

I have spoken to the chefs about the chicken being overcooked in your lasagne, and we are again sorry you felt that way. However, our lasagnes are all baked in batches of about 20 portions, and we have had rave reviews from customers who would have eaten from the very same batch as you did telling us how succulent the dish was and how tasty it was.

All in all, we are sorry that your meal was not to your taste, and would welcome you back any time to try something different which we are sure would impress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose the salad bar as one of our starters and as previous reviewers have stated the price we felt was expensive. If there had been more of a selection fine but it was limited. It would also help to label the dressings. We did not know without guessing what they were.
The soup was good but the burgers were ok, just average.
All in all for the total price not somewhere I would re visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to tell us what you thought of our restaurant.

Our salad bar (as can be seen from the photographs here on tripadvisor) holds at least 10 different salad items and 2 dressings. For £4.50 we think that this provides excellent value for money - each item of salad is freshly prepared that day local, high quality ingredients, and the selection ranges from mixed leafy salads to potato and pasta salads, basic ingredients like baby vine tomatoes, cucumber, sweetcorn, carrot, crutons, roasted peppers, sweet cabbage... the list changes daily to make use of what is availiable from our local suppliers. This is all on display in the restaurant for anyone who wants to have a look before ordering, and we have a following of locals who come in time and time again just for our salad bar alone.

The dressings are usually two or more from a selection that includes french, ceasar, and honey and mustard. There is also balsamic and olive oil on every table. I have taken on board what you said about the labels not being clear and will ensure that this is rectified promptly.

We are very proud of our soups, and are glad that you liked them. Our burgers are made to our own recipe and usually go down a treat. In fact they are one of our most popular items.

Again, thank you for your feedback. However, for 2 starters and 2 high quality burgers, your meal would have cost under £30 and we feel that this represents great value considering the high quality ingredients used, the excellent service and the lovely atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WHAT A NIGHT !!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic service, Beautiful presentation & AMAZING FOOD! Thanks THE OLIVE GARDEN XX A hen night to remember XX

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thistle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your night so much, and Antonio can't wait for the next time you are in :)

We were very busy on this night so are very happy that the presentation, service and food did not suffer as a result. Top marks to the chefs and waiting staff.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - we love to get feedback, especially when it is this good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class all the way”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I organised my friends bridal shower in ti this Resturaunt for 13 ladies, I was looking for a classy sophisticated atmosphere with excellent food and amazing service, I was not disappointed in any way. We were running a bit late but the staff were understanding and not pushing us to order. Antonio joined in with the banter and took it all in good fun. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. All in all a fantastic night. I have read some of the none to flattering reviews in here about this Resturaunt and cannot understand what these people wanted as we could not have asked for more. I will Definetely be back and will be advising all my friends to go try it out. X

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisiekelly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveGardenOban, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Ladies, Antonio tells me that you were a 'right laugh' and hopes that you all return soon. We are so happy that you could enjoy this special occasion with us at The Olive Garden, wish the bride all the best in what will surely be a happy future, and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Garden also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing