We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad welcome and bad departure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #76 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad welcome and bad departure”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We called some days before leaving from France and booked a double room, but when we arrived Mrs Linda seemed having forgotten us... She gave us a ridiculously small double room (hardly enough for one person) under the roof, that made it even more uncomfortable (but we payed for a normal double room!!). We asked for the wi-fi password (normally available for guests, as indicated in the Website and at the entrance) and she gave it to us after asking us "do you relly need it?". Poor breakfast. She didn't tell us at what time we had to check out on the morning, so we took our time (looking for accommodation in the other cities we were going to visit in Scotland) but she came to our room and just chased us away like animals (of course we'd already payed) telling us we had to leave the room immediately. She has no respect of her guests and is only looking for money. Once guests have paid they're rubbish and have to get out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epifanio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggylogan, Owner at Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
I am sorry that they feel their experience during their one night stay with us was less than satisfactory.Our family has been operating this traditional bed and breakfast for more than 50 years and our guest book testifies to the many happy visitors that have stayed with us. The only room that was available at the time of the booking was a small queensize room.The rate for this room is £20.00 per person including full Scottish breakfast.The room is complete with small screen television and a full hospitality tray.All guests are shown the room on arrival and if they make known any problems, we endeavour to deal with them.We do not require and do not take deposits but are confident in our guests and the standards we set and are rarely let down..The date of the one night stay was at the height of the season in August but as is the case with all guests they reserve the right of refusal if they find the room we have available is not suitable.The house that day was full and all guests ate breakfast.Our breakfast consists of cereals fresh fruit in addition to full Scottish cooked breakfast.Our bread and marmalade is homemade and the other guests felt happy enough to put written comments in our visitors book.We have a large lounge specifically for guests which this couple declined to use and they were asked to vacate the bedroom at 13.15 to enable us to clean and prepare it for the arrival of other guests at 1400.The wifi password as well as the departure times are printed in each room and we often make arrangements for late departures for ferrys etc when asked.No request was made.We are sorry they did not enjoy their stay but the room was all we had and the cost is less than most of the hostels charge for bunks in Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

The hostess was lovely and provided us with a large, room; bed linens were rich and comfy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioRoseTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Linda has a very nice home that she shares with travels such as myself. She will go over and beyond to make you comfortable and welcome. She and her husband live in one of the oldest homes in this part of Oban. She was very helpful with tour information to Mull and Iona. One day it was cold, windy, and misting; but I cannot fault her for that. haa haa. I would definitely stay at this B & B again if my travels take me to Oban, Scotland

Helen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at this great B&B on our recent visit Oban. Glenlockhart is centrally located with only a 5-10 min walk from the town centre, bus & train station and ferry terminal.

What a real home from it is, the rooms are emaculate and beautifully decorated and had all the necessary extras. A huge bonus was that it has off road parking and there was a spacious lounge for us to relax in.

Breakfast is cooked to order and there was a huge selection of cereals, fresh fruit and fruit juices. It certainly gave us a good start to the day.

Congratulations Linda and Bob you certainly have got it right. What a "little gem" you have in Glenlockhart.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank princessScotbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barndromin Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Shepherds House
#54 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.8 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glenlockhart Mossfield Drive, Oban PA34 4EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenlockhart in Oban is a traditional Scottish Bed & Breakfast which has been in the same family for over 50 years. A former farm house which was originally built around 1844 it has been upgraded and improved over the years. Fully double glazed and centrally heated we have two large bedrooms with king-size beds, and a single room. Free Wifi internet access, a Freesat TV terminal, hospitality tray and a hairdryer are provided in each room. Bathroom and Toilet are shared. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenlockhart Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing