We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invercloy Guest House
Ranked #38 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It is a familiy run guesthouse, with just 6 rooms or so.
Hosts are very friendly and helpful, they recommend good restaurants and worth visits.
Rooms are just excelent, specially those with harbour views. There's tea and some cookies in the bedrooms just as a welcome gift.
Everything is very clean, beds are super comfortable!
I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Traveleree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Invercloy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights and it is in the top 3 "hotels" of our trip. The guest house is nice, warm and clean, 5 minutes from the centre.
We were greeted by the proprietor's daughter which was very friendly and helpful. The guest-house doesn't provide breakfast but you can store your food in a the refrigerator and there is a Tesco not far away (15 minutes walk), since we were on a tight budget it was a good thing for us actually !

We didn't have an ensuite bathroom but the common bathroom was 3 steps from our door and clean. Luckily, we never had to wait to take a shower though the house was full. Maybe the only thing missing in the bathroom is a bath mat, to avoid having to step on a damp floor.

The room in itself was very nice, with a comfy bed and pillows, a sink (quite handy when you want to brush your teeth or freshen up !), tea and coffee, towels, and a TV. After a few nights in youth hostels this room was a real blessing for us... It was a bit pricey (£70 per night) but worth the expense.

I would definitely go back there if we were to return in Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Invercloy is a basic but well run room only Guest House with unexpected extras such as good toiletries, bathrobes etc that you would not expect to find in this style of establishment. The owners were very friendly and my single room looked directly over the bay. It was excellent value for money in this tourist town and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thamesfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Beautiful Guesthouse (note without the breakfast though - but this is clear on their website) Amazing view over Oban. Comfortable room will all amenities including ensuite. Extra touches made this place memorable, fresh coffee, lovely busicuts and electric blankets to name a few. Easy to walk into town, although it is up a hill so if you have mobility issues might not be the easiest location to walk to and from. If you have a car then its no problem. If I were ever back in Oban I would stay here

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gribbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

1.Warm welcome
2.Warm house
3.Breathtaking view over harbour

Room Tip: ask for harbour view room - magnificent
Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank Milacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

i highly recommend this guest house. It is in an excellent position close to the town centre, the train station, ferry and Mccraig's tower. It is run by a delightful family who will give you a warm welcome. It is guest house and doesn't do breakfast but there is a good cafe a the bottom of the footsteps leading into town. It takes no more than a couple of minutes to reach.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Emjoyed a very warm welcome on arrival.

Nothing was too much bother for proprietor.

I thouroughly recommend this guest house and will stay again, for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakes_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#30 of 94 in Oban
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#84 of 94 in Oban
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#20 of 94 in Oban
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invercloy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invercloy Guest House

Address: Invercloy Ardconnel Terrace, Oban PA34 5DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $70 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invercloy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Invercloy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invercloy Guest House Hotel Oban
Invercloy Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing