We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun weekend”
Review of Arbour Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arbour Guest House
Ranked #87 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun weekend”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went with a group of girlfriends for a fun weekend after seeing the www.holidaysinoban.com website offering accommodation and a special deal in O'donnell's irish Pub for food and live music.
Check in was efficient and cheerful (we were a bit aprehensive after checking out some reviews, but it was a great deal, so we went for it). The room was lovely, very clean and spacious with wooden floors, right on the front so we got a good view of the sea from the window. The room has 4 beds and a small ensuite, perfect for a group or a family. Breakfast was in the sister house St. Annes next door run by the same family, which was absolutely fine. The main office and reception is also in St Annes. Brillaint statue of a Highlander in front of it - we took loads of photos! Couldnt fault the Guest House, or the staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 3. great for groups or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbour1, Owner at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write something positive about your stay with us. We very much appreciate it, and do try very hard to make out guests comfortable, as well as keeping our prices low as possible. We also try to add value for our guests by arranging a good deal on food and drink and entertainment at O'Donnell's and Paparazzi. Unfortunately, it is quite difficuilt to receive complements from a review as it has to be something 'special' to move people to take the time to write something positive about it. We are very much a 'middle of the road' type of place. The majority of our customers are satisfied with their experience, as we know from feedback during their stay, but not often moved to express this satisfaction in a written review. So, thank you very much once again.

Arbour Guest House
Holidaysinoban.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    19
    24
    55
See reviews for
39
31
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place is a health hazard went to have a shower in the morning @7:30am and there was no hot water just ice cold water and this is the only shower for everyone to use in the whole place and this is on the 1st floor and toilet on the ground floor the TV has half it channels missing and u have to go to the house next door for breakfast and this if between 8:30&9:30 only and i was on the ground floor and the door bell keep getting rang(which is right outside my door!) all night by people looking for rooms , we only ended up staying hear as this was book by the office and there don't bother to check any review before booking,Please look for some were else to stay

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbour1, Owner at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are sorry your stay at Arbour fell short of your expectations. The shower which is available for your room should have been hot, and we apologise for that. I believe you stayed for several days, so presumably it was fine on other occasions? Unfortunately since you did not bring this problem to our attention at the time of your stay, we were unable to check it out at the time. Arbour has in fact 3 showers and 5 toilets available for Guests, not 1 for the whole house ( 6 rooms in the part of the house you were staying in) as you presumed. TV channells are FREESAT and have a multitude of channels. Your room was on the ground floor, but we would have been happy to change it for you on request if we had known you were disturbed by the door bell, although this is unusual as guest usually just open the front door and come into the hallway for reception. To avoid disappointment, we always advise guests to carefully check the terms of their online bookings, paying particular attention to check in times, breakfast times, parking conditions and room facilities.

Best Regards

St Annes Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

You know how they say "dont judge a book by it's cover"? This is the case for the brilliant weekend I had in Oban with my mum for my birthday (which is today--- on the day of departure!) However, Arbour Guest House was "Meh?!" The room smelt of dampness and the beds were murder (I slept on the couch!) My mum's back was in agony! There was a bathroom on each level and ONE shower, which had hot water at SPECIFIC times <<< WHAT?

You had to go over to St.Anne's for breakfast which was good, for a scottish breakfast you could pay extra, but we had continental. Parking's a **** but we dodged it by parking outside the place ;-) (didn't need to pay!)

But overall it was acceptable for a weekend and I had a great time---- OUTSIDE.
Go to the chippy that has reviews from Tam Cowan - The fish was incredible!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

we made a group booking for several twin rooms and received email confirmation. upon arrival the first members of our party were advised only part of this booking had actually been registered and rooms had not been allocated for them. four of our group were then shown to inadequate accomodation in two seperate buildings. the rooms in arbour house and the other houses were very, very basic and disappointing. none were en suite and unfortunately the shared bathroom in arbour (between 6 rooms over two floors) was undesirable and there was no air freshener that day! we all chose not to shower there! we were charged £59 for one night per twin room - we were not offered a breakfast opportunity so cannot comment on costs or quality for that.

no one in my party enjoyed their experience and none will use this guest house or any of the others in the company chain and of course the only recommendation we give is DO NOT STAY IN ARBOUR GUEST HOUSE!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alf774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I booked a double room, en suite, through Laterooms.com. We arrived at 4.00 p.m. with a printout showing a confirmed reservation. Nobody was serving at reception, only a lady ironing bedding was around. After about an hour's delay a phone call to the proprietor revealed that she had no knowledge of our reservation. After further delay she instructed the maid to open a double room, accessed via the kitchen, for us to occupy overnight - shared toilet. The room was adequate with a t.v. set the size of a laptop and a tea and biscuits tray provided. The next morning we found that, despite our B & B booking we were not signed up for breakfast. A different staff member was around, cooking breakfast for those who knew they had to book it separately. No receptionist or manager ever appeared to register us or inform us of our entitlements. We managed to salvage some cold toast left behind by earlier guests.
This is without doubt the worst B & B experience we have ever had. I doubt whether it is legal to provide rooms accessed via a kitchen, nor to admit guests without registering them. This looks like a case of too many irons in the fire for the proprietor but the Arbour Guest House and its sister B & B the St Anne's Guest House should be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Avoid the Arbour Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We paid £100 for a 3 bedded room with continental breakfast.We arrived on 5th August 12 and were escorted by the receptionist to a house two doors down and shown our room. It was disgusting with stained carpet, peeling radiator paint, stained bedding, stained, ripped mattress and no headboards to two of the beds. We requested our money back but the owner elaine cameron initially refused to speak to us until we took photos of the room and she then spoke (rudely) to us on the phone, refusing a refund for the first night and only agreeing not to charge for the second night when we pointed out that we were entitled to cancel per the booking conditions. We left and found a nice B&B opposite charging only £70 incl full cooked breakfast. Do not stay at the Arbour Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

on arrival we were offered a budget room.The front door of the house was dirty and panels missing. On entering the house there was a very strong air freshener was was being used to hide the smell. The property was very dated and tatty In the room the carpet was very badly stained and parts of it hidden with rugs. there was mice poisoning in the kitchen cupboard and the milk in the tray was dated may 2012. The shared toilet was basic and dirty and we were told we could get breakfast at a cost of £9 which we declined. After going out for dinner we decided that we weren't going to stay in this place budget room or not. After waiting for a while the owner turned up and eventually refunded our money back. budget rooms or not, places should still have to adhered to certain rules if they want to be landlords.I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting Oban

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#83 of 93 in Oban
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#51 of 93 in Oban
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wide Mouthed Frog
0.2 mi away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#31 of 93 in Oban
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbour Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbour Guest House

Property: Arbour Guest House
Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbour Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbour Guest House is a Victorian Town House very close to the Town Centre of Oban. Open all year round. Ensuite rooms, Standard rooms and Budget rooms are available. Online prices are for room only. Breakfast is available to book for an additional charge. Free wifi for guests. Parking is public car parking and free overnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your Arbour Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbour Guest House Hotel Oban
Arbour Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing