We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another warm welcome and cosy stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kathmore Guest House
Ranked #12 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another warm welcome and cosy stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited Kathmore for the second time in early October before getting the very choppy ferry to Lochboisdale. Morven gave us a warm welcome and once again we had a wonderful stay; definitely our place to stay in Oban. Thank you Morven!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squibbets M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Colin & Kate,
Thank you for your lovely review I was not expecting it. It was lovely to see you both again. Oh, was it a bit wild going over, poor you. Hope you got some of this great weather we have been having this past week while on holiday. The sunsets have been amazing. Look forward to seeing you both again.
Cheers
Morven. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    88
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
150
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly lady staff, the triple room was comfortable and clean. Towel sets were in 3 different colors so guest avoid mixed ups. Very thoughtful I felt. There was a common lounge room for relaxation, dining and drinking. 10-15 mins walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Folks,
Thank you for your great review. Guests reviews really do help, so thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay at wee Kathmore. Come back and see us one day.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

we had a great stay we should stayed 3 nights but because of the bad weather we could not get the boat to Mull.and had to cancel 1 night. We offered to pay for all 3 she only charged for 2.I know a lot B&B who would have taken it all.We enjoyed our stay breakfasts were wonderful lots of choice our only concern was that we found the bed a little soft, but over all I can recommend this what is a lovely small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emrys p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Really appreciate you taking the time to do this for me.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Morvan was a great hostess, she could not do enough for us...she was full of information about things to do, places to see and where to eat. We parked the car and walked everywhere! It is the ideal location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Foks,
So glad you loved Kathmore and enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed having you here. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this for me. Hope you return one day, always nice to see my guests coming back again.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

For our three days in Oban the two os us endured constant rain. Thank heavens for Kathmore Guest House as it was the perfect place to escape the weather. A large, comfortable room, a brand new separate private bathroom, a large lounge area, and off-street parking. Morven welcomed us as if we were old friends and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was all you could expect served promptly and cheerfully. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, really appreciate it. Happy you enjoyed Kathmore and it was lovely meeting and talking to you.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Kathmore would have made it easy for us to stay longer in Oban if we could. The location was great for walking to city cneter and city attractions. We stayed 2 nights in order to catch the ferry to Iona. Parking was easy (something that is not always easy). Morva was great hostess, assisting us with our phone troubles, most cheerful. Breakfast was excellent. Recommendations for restaurants were exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Folks,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us . This important to me. It was nice meeting you and it would be lovely to see you return .
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in numerous accommodations in Germany, Scotland and Ireland and this was one of the very best. Great location, good parking, superb food and a wonderful hostess. We will go again. We used the guest lounge both nights and the entire experience was comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your GREAT REVIEW, really do appreciate it. We are happy because you were happy and it would be lovely to see you back. Glad you enjoyed our wee town. I always say Oban has something special, we are so lucky living in a beautiful part of the world (well when the sun decides shines)

All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.2 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmore Guest House

Property: Kathmore Guest House
Address: Kathmore Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmore Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmore Guest House is recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide Book. Morven & Keith have been running Kathmore for 31 years and still loving it. Easy 10 min walk ( NO HILLS) to town centre bus, train and ferry terminals. Rooms comprise of 7 en suite and 1 Double standard. All tastefully furnished with t.v's, hair dryers,dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee trays. Spacious parking to rear for all our Guests. Choice breakfast offered to cater for everyones appetite, vegetarian & gluteen-free catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathmore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing