We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid view!!”
Review of Ayres Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ayres Guest House
Ranked #52 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2014

An affordable and yet a great place to stay!! You ve a splendid view of the coast. It's an old building but very well maintained!!
Gettin to the ferry terminal is just a 10 minute walk along the coast! I would highly recommend oban and ayres to any fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vineet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at Ayres guesthouse for 5 nights with family and friends in September. All three ensuite rooms were spacious and very clean, with the one at the front of the guesthouse having breath-taking views of the nearby islands.

We were welcomed by the owner, Brian, who was very helpful and informative during our stay and even went out of his way to assist us with our airline check-in. Both cooked and continental breakfasts were abundant. Worth the money spent.

I recommend Ayres to others and would surely not hesitate to stay there again when re-visiting Oban.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doris_baldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location is perfect, in the centre of Oban on the sea. Unfortunately, our room didn't have a view on the sea. The breakfast was a good buffet. The room was big, clean, with good tea facilities and the bathroom was nice as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ayres Guest House for one night as part of a tour of the west of Scotland.
We were met by the owner who was very courteous and should us to our room which was on the first floor and faced the bay, the views were beautiful. The room itself was well appointed and all the usual facilities were available. The en suit was a little on the small side but served very well (maybe I’m just too big).
The breakfast was ample and a good selection of continental and traditional cooked food was available.
The position of the guest house is very good for access to Oban centre and to the seafront. If I had to make a reservation it is not about the Guest house it would be about the neighbouring premises bar which make no effort to keep it’s guests noise limits down. This should not be taken as a criticism of Ayres Guest House but as to the thoughtlessness of it’s neighbours. With all that in mind I would still thoroughly recommend this guest house and if I were to revisit Oban I would use it again.

Room Tip: Room No. 3 Has two windows giving two slightly different views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam-and-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

been here now 5 times and I must say its fantastic
I always get a sea view
brian the owner is great and makes you very welcome
the staff are great when you get breakfast
first class
will be back next year

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms - all you need, close to city center and Oban distellery. Nice breakfast and easy to get away from by car. We only spend one night but I could easyly have spend more nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A very nice stay in this guesthouse. The owners are friendly and helpful making you feel right at home.
The breakfast was served buffet style - very nice.

Parking in car park to one side and no problems.

Thanks for a pleasant stay.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
3.2 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
3 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Guest House

Address: Victoria Crescent, Corran Esplanade | Corran House, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $29 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality sea front accommodation within 5 minutes level walk along the waterfront to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing