We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
14
5
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
5
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grey waste tralee bay hot tub minute walk great location pod warden highlander tourer glasgow facilities accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Extremely well maintained holiday park, lovely clean pod with hot tub. Pods are very compact but comfortable.
It would have been nice if the gentleman who met us welcomed us but he was very matter of fact and rushing to get away. He also turned, as an afterthought, and shouted across the park 'mind and clean up your dog's mess'. As if we wouldn't !!
Access to the Pod was from 1600 hours and you had to leave by 0930 hours. I feel this is very early when you are just away for a weekend.
On leaving handed the keys to said gentleman and he just said 'thanks'. No asking if we enjoyed ourselves or any pleasantries which would have been hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristineM191250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traleedave, Owner at Highfield Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you, Christine, for your review and feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the pod and hot tub, and we're really sorry about the warden's offhand manner. (We will be looking into this). Unfortunately, the check-in/check-out times are what they are because of the time it takes to empty, clean and refill the hot tubs.

Apologies again for the warden's manner and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

A shakedown trip for our newly acquired caravan saw us head north for the Glasgow September long weekend for a Friday - Monday stop at Highfields just north of Oban. The site was easy to find and after a couple of attempts at phonign the warden we were welcomed by a lovely lady who gave us all the information we needed for our stay both about the site and local amenities such as fish & chips, the pink shop in the village and walked us to our pitch, lovely touch I thought. Despite being a holiday weekend for Glasgow the site was all but empty of tourers so there was room a plenty, in fact there is plenty of room between hard standing pitches in any case. The serviced pitch had electric and water, grey waste was moments away and chemical waste was a minute or so away. There was no tv point on the pitch but TV reception was apparently hit and miss in the area, the signal coming from the island of Mull, in any case we found the wi-fi provided ample access to TV with no problems connecting and little in the way of interuption. The village with garage, convenience store (pink shop) and outdoor / caravan spares was minutes away by car. Also a couple of minutes away is a fish and chip shop, super fish & chips, and a restaurant (we didn't eat at the restaurant). The site isn't beach side but is a 10 minute walk or so from a fairly sandy beach and dunes with super views, however the site does have nice views of the hills, both local and distant. The site sits next to a croft / smallholding with some sheep, cows and ponies all visible. Some reviews refer to a noisy dog locally, there was a vocal dog fairly local to the site but it was only heard during the day and wasn't an issue at night at all, in fact the dog could be heard well away from the site. Highfields isn't exactly an all singing all dancing site but it's in a lovely location with friendly wardens and is one we'd go back to when visiting Oban or the islands.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traleedave, Owner at Highfield Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Thank you, Colin, for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Highfield and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We were here recently. Myself, partner and 2 young kids! What a lovely time we had in one of the highlander pods, so lovely we spent most of our time just chilling in the garden, right next to a field full of animals which the kids loved. Can't wait to visit again. The hot tub was amazing!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank kwcw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traleedave, Owner at Highfield Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you very much for your 5-star review! It's great to hear that you all had a relaxing stay in the Highlander pod and enjoyed hot tub. Lovely photos too and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are just back from spending 2 nights in an Argyll pod. The pods are stunning, very tastefully decorated with good quality furniture. The hot tub was fantastic, natural wood burning tub, very rustic and right on the edge of the pond (Argyll 7) lovely scenery as you soak. The site was very well maintained by the hands on warden, very secluded and quiet, the perfect place for a relaxing break. Couldn't fault it at all and can't wait to go back!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank RC0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traleedave, Owner at Highfield Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review and feedback! Great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Highfield and looking forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Lovely spacious tent pitches, immaculate toilet facilities, we really couldn't fault this site. Beautiful quiet setting, south facing so it gets all the sun that is available!! Respectful owners. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank CorrieCranstoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traleedave, Owner at Highfield Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you, Corrie, for your lovely feedback and 5-star review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Highfield and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews