We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorne View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorne View
Ranked #74 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the town of Oban and the stay in Lorne View was one of the pleasures. The place is tastefully and functionally furbished. The shared bathroom is big clean and pretty. The breakfast is not in the building but it was not difficult to find Carolyn´s Cafe two minutes away. We liked the style and atmosphere in obviously popular cafe as much as the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The twist is you have to career down a steep hill to get to the cafe for your breakfast. A taxi from the pier is a must also. Top steep a hill to carry bags up. Grand views though. At 30 pppn it does seem at tad over priced. Especially as the hotel I stayed in in Glasgow was around the same value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buchally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to live on for a couple of days. Caroline, the owner is easy to speak with and no problem to get help from.
Breakfast at Carolines Café is realy good. You can get takeaways for your daytrip too. You can also have lunch and dinner here. I can recommend this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gorangoransson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent our first night in Scotland in one of the smaller rooms of the Lorne View B&B. Apart from space (which was not that much of an issue for us), we had a great experience. The view was awesome, furnishings looked new, the bed was comfortable and the included breakfast in the nearby Café was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stumbled on this sweet B&B accidentally on our way up to the tower. The B&B we'd tried to stop at was closed (though the sign said open). Carolyn cheerfully accommodated us in a clean, friendly room with a tiny, functional en suite bathroom (we want to adapt that sliding door for our home!). Great view out over Oban harbor and the town.

She didn't bat an eye at us as a same-sex couple, which is always a pleasant experience. She pretty much left us to our own devices, but was available when we had questions, which I prefer over the B&B owners who treat guests as audiences for their personal foibles and fables.

I loved that we could wander down the hill to her fabulous cafe for breakfast the next morning, at our leisure. The food was great, the service friendly, and the town definitely worth exploring.

I would absolutely stay here again, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ker C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A neat little b&b above the town with very nice views, tiny but effective bathroom, and a friendly black cat. Breakfast is in the town at Carolyn's Cafe. Reasonably priced, entirely comfortable, would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Burnabonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night before getting a 7am ferry. The room we stayed in had a double and single bed and a travel cot (which we had requested, it didn't have any bedding but ended up not using it anyway) The room had lovely big windows looking down over the harbour. The room was spacious even with all the beds and had a TV, DVD player (CD player?), tea/coffee making facilities and an electric heater. The decor was lovely, not too plain. The bathroom was not en-suite but only across the corridor (literally 3 steps) and was lovely and big. Overall I felt very at home and would happily stay again and for longer a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#87 of 99 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#35 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne View

Property: Lorne View
Address: Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorne View is a traditional town house situated high above Oban Town on the west coast of Scotland and enjoys stunning views across the harbour and bay to the isles of Kerrera and Mull.Rab and Carolyn have recently bought this lovely house, and have refurbished this lovely family home to a very comfortable and welcoming Scottish bed and breakfast. Please note that we no longer offer a full breakfast but a self service continental breakfast is available in our kitchen. We no longer own carolynscafe but if you'd like a full Scottish breakfast you will get a 10% discount there. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorne View Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing