We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing for Lorne (geddit?!?)”
Review of Lorne View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorne View
Ranked #71 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing for Lorne (geddit?!?)”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A neat little b&b above the town with very nice views, tiny but effective bathroom, and a friendly black cat. Breakfast is in the town at Carolyn's Cafe. Reasonably priced, entirely comfortable, would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Burnabonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night before getting a 7am ferry. The room we stayed in had a double and single bed and a travel cot (which we had requested, it didn't have any bedding but ended up not using it anyway) The room had lovely big windows looking down over the harbour. The room was spacious even with all the beds and had a TV, DVD player (CD player?), tea/coffee making facilities and an electric heater. The decor was lovely, not too plain. The bathroom was not en-suite but only across the corridor (literally 3 steps) and was lovely and big. Overall I felt very at home and would happily stay again and for longer a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de La Laguna, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in this small b&b one night. We arrived and Carolyn, the owner was there waiting for us. The first thing she told me was "there has been a problem with you bookin". I didn't know what to answer, cause I was worried she had no room left. But the situation was much better! We had an en-suite room but without a shower. The room was small, but clean and with an astonishing view on Oban Harbour. The breakfast was included in the bar of the owner. Unluckily we were in a hurry and we didn't had time to have it slow. I suggest this b&b to all the travellers in Oban.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schorndorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Warm welcom, very friendly and helpful owners. Beautiful Room with a great view.
Delicious breakfast at Carolyn`s Cafe. We can recommend Lorne View to everybody!!!
We would have remained with pleasure longer!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSHi259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Carolyn was very welcoming on arrival. Showed us to our room which was a small double having its own toilet and wash basin. The room was very clean and well equipped(even fresh flowers!). We had to share a bathroom but it was only a few steps away. The bathroom was huge and toiletries were provided. Breakfast was served at Carolyn's Cafe a short walk away. Nothing was too much trouble. Will return when next we visit Oban.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room was very pleasant, clean and with an excellent outlook. The sign outside says B&B but we were told that breakfast was available at additional cost at the cafe run by the owners. We were informed as we arrived that the cafe was not open on a Sunday and to help ourselves to cereal from the owners kitchen. As we had to leave early on the following morning we ended up eating breakfast on the Cal Mac ferry - excellent value and highly recommended. The view from the bedroom was very good but it's a very steep walk from the main street - you may want to factor in a taxi fare to the overall price - that plus the breakfast makes the proposition seem not quite so attractive.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuthy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lorne View, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. There seems to be a bit of confusion as breakfast is very much included in the price, it is served in our cafe which is just 2 mins down hill. The cafe is open all day on a Sunday from 9am and from 8am every other day, If guests require an early breakfast on any day we offer a continental breakfast which is available in the kitchen and includes much more than cereal!
As for our house and many guest houses, they are up the hill but to be fair the view makes it worth it.
Sorry that the details were not explained to you fully and i hope the rest of your holiday was a good one.
Thanks Carolyn (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We are not keen on B&B's as a rule as rooms are generally too small, but we did not find his the case with the room we had at the Lorne View. The view from the room was stunning with 2 fabulous sunsets. We had a car and parking in the street was not a problem and was free. We liked the room and the bed was very comfortable. We did walk down to the town (for a seafood dinner at the Lorne Hotel ) and it was quite a climb back, but we knew this was the case and probably should have taken the car, but this would not in any way have disuaded us from staying here and the view made up for any walking.
Carolyn was an excellent host and available for any questions. We regarded our stay as good value. A a very tasty full Irish breakfast is served at Carolyns Cafe which is located in the town at 5 John Street, Oban. This was not a disadvantage with the car, although it is noted that although it opens at 7 am Monday to Friday, it does not open until 10 am on Sundays and we were on our way by that time.
Oban is a very friendly and charming town not to be missed. Plan to stay for several days as there is plenty to do. .There are ferries to the Islands and we visited Iona which was much better accessed by ferry, bus and ferry rather than taking the car. The Lorne View was a very good base and we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Make Carolyn aware of the room you require and I'm sure she will do her best to accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.1 mi away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#33 of 93 in Oban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#57 of 93 in Oban
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#49 of 93 in Oban
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne View

Property: Lorne View
Address: Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorne View is a traditional town house situated high above Oban Town on the west coast of Scotland and enjoys stunning views across the harbour and bay to the isles of Kerrera and Mull.Rab and Carolyn have recently bought this lovely house, and have refurbished this lovely family home to a very comfortable and welcoming Scottish bed and breakfast. Please note that we no longer offer a full breakfast but a self service continental breakfast is available in our kitchen. We no longer own carolynscafe but if you'd like a full Scottish breakfast you will get a 10% discount there. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorne View Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing