We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Fantastic restaurant. Been here lots of times and In my opinion this is the best restaurant in town. All the staff are so friendly and attentive. The background music is perfect, and there is a nice quiet atmosphere. Food is the best ever, always cooked to perfection. it is nice to sit by the window, and watch the world go by. I would definately recommend Coast

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    159
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice venue - good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. Very good food indeed. Early evening menu looked excellent value - though we opted for the a la carte menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good start to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

A good start to our holiday was eating at Coast. Good quality food and reasonably priced wine. Service genuinely friendly. No children after 8 pm. Would gladly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank RowntreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly late Christmas review- still relevant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our works do was held last Christmas at Coast and I am sad to say I did not follow up with a review- we had the most amazing turkey dinner combined with a dazzling variety of aromatic additions to a traditional format served in a diverse and appetising presentation. The choices were balanced and you didnt feel you had eaten huge lunch before heading off for drinks. The taste was the all importnat factor and savouring the salad dressing, the mincepies and the fresh vegetable was just wonderful- Including drinks we averaged £30 per head which was amazing considering all we had. Will definitely get my team vote to return for Christmas next and obviously before hand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tenboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in Oban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We were pleased to secure reservations so late in the day. The mussel appetizer was one of the best we've eaten anywhere in the world; the salad was a mix of perfectly cooked and raw vegetables with a delicate dressing that complimented the mix beautifully. My husband had fish and chips - unlike any you'd get in San Francisco or Haut Bay or Boston....so delicious. I chose the sole with peas and tiny, slightly crisp gnocchi -- sublime. Wine selection is excellent and reasonably priced. It was a lovely way to end a beautiful day of driving through the Scottish Highlands!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing