We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food!”
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place is a must - great food, excellent service, lovely ambiance and amazing value for money.
Veggie goat's cheese starter and main were delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone as their menu should appeal to all. Lighter version ample and great value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyRat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    164
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited Coast for a birthday dinner after struggling to find a restaurant in Oban serving vegetarian food that wasn't macaroni cheese!. We received a warm welcome and had a choice of table. The restaurant is fairly dark and candlelit, with quiet music - really good for a relaxed meal. The menu was varied, and we liked having the choice of the standard menu and a light menu. Our meals were delicious with decent portion size. Service was excellent - we were asked if we wanted a break between finishing our mains and ordering dessert, and given time to finish our wine before getting the bill - so nice not to be rushed! It was the best meal we've both had in a long time and would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place with great food. Amazing goats cheese starter. My wife loved the muscles. I'm a veggie and don't fish but the artichoke tart was beautiful. Only slight disappointment was my dessert was a little boring compared to everything else I had. Otherwise great restaurant with nice service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrRabBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best seafood meal in years”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We adored our meal and the whole dining experience. The waitress was a lovely woman and a giggle too. I would recommend this restaurant to all. Worth the trip to beautiful Oban just for this restaurant alone. The whole area is of course a gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeeeekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We go to this restaurant on nearly every special occasion. Food is stunning and menu changes all the time so your always getting something new and tasty.
Anyone visiting oban should dine here the staff make you feel very welcome and the atmosphere is perfect for a romantic meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing