We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard food”
Review of Piazza

Piazza
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pizza was tasteless, and seemed largely mass produced. Wife's pasta had very little sauce to make it more than just pasta, and the Parmesan came in two varieties...... Sawdust or shavings of.....Edam? Great view, mediocre staff, and lousy food. Won't be back.

Thank Scribula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piazza r, Owner at Piazza, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear reviewer
Bitterly disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with us.
All of our pizzas are made entirely in house and the uniformity which probably gives the impression of mass production is down to an instrument called a pizza pinner .
You feed the dough into a hopper and it then comes out flattened ,circular and ready to top and cook.
As far as our pasta dishes are concerned every sauce is lovingly prepared using the finest creams herbs and meats.
We also pride ourselves on having a great team of young staff the majority of whom are local and I can say with supreme confidence that they are a delightful bunch.
I know you state you will not be back but if you ever do please contact me personally and hopefully we can change your opinion of us.
Kind regards
Callum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 937 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a lunch here - the pizza is tiny and the olives tasteless.. The base may or may not be homemade but tastes like catering base with little tomato layer. Pricey 9 quid !
The salad was quite good and coffee good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piazza r, Owner at Piazza, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guest
Very disappointed you felt let down with quality of our pizza !
We continually aspire to deliver a product that is consistent and great .
We make our pizzas daily in our kitchen and as you will appreciate there is an abundance of recipes and alternatives out there each delivering its unique flavour.
On a remotely positive note I am glad you enjoyed our salad and coffee.
I hope if you ever decide to return you will have a more enjoyable experience with our pizzas.
Kind regards
Callum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited Piazza last night on our night away in Oban.

We were glad we had booked our table as it was soooo busy but in a good way as the place was buzzing with a fabulous atmosphere and had a real 'feel good' vibe about the place.

The staff were wonderful, even though every table was full they were very attentive & seemed to work fantastic as a team! we did not wait long at all for anything we ordered and there were a lot of staff who were clearly on the ball when it came to customer service!

Our meal was fantastic.....the mushroom starter was to die for! Over all, our meal was perfect and even though it was busy we didn't feel rushed to leave the table and we spent a few hrs over our 3 courses & drinks while chatting and enjoying being there.

Deserves a visit for sure next time we are in Oban. It's not very often I feel the need to write a review as I am not usually over impressed when it comes to restaurants as I pick up on anything wrong instantly coming from a hospitality background but I really couldn't fault anything at Piazza, well done to the staff for making our night an enjoyable one :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank arlene85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant at 18.50 so qualified for their deal. Pay the price of the time you arrive. This meant that our mains cost 6.50 each. On entering we were quickly greeted and asked to wait a couple of minutes. The restaurant was very busy and we were taken to a table without too much delay. Good menu and friendly service. Enjoyed ambiance and window table. We thoroughly our meals which were fresh and tasty. There was no pressure on us to leave after our meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hazel m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We live locally and use Piazza or its' sister restaurant E-Usk regularly, either for a coffee and sweetmeat, or for a lunch of pizza or pasta, the salmon & prawn linguine is delish by the way, or for a more formal dinner with friends. We have visited many times and have never been disappointed or let down.
It is a little more expensive, but worth every penny, we are of the opinion that you only get what you pay for, and this is well worth that little bit more.
The outlook over the bay in Oban is fascinating, watching the ferries coming & going from the Hebridean islands.
We would recommend a visit to Piazza any day of the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piazza r, Owner at Piazza, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I could not have written better myself!
I have shown your review to our team and they are absolutely delighted with it.
Thank you so much once again . i can't grovel enough:))
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Callum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing