We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old fashioned indian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Light of India

The Light of India
Ranked #44 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

A fantastic meal with attentive service. Huge portions great taste. Pakora poppadums and pickles 2 curries rice and a nan plus drinks for 2 under £35! What more could you want? Considering some of the fancy restaurants were wanting £20 for a plate of fish and chips this must be a good choice if you are eating out in Oban.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2scots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    50
    15
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“jalfrazi nites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

loved the flavours of my king prawn jalfrazi will defo return x my sister has raved about it since we came home

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cumfylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It's where the locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I usually go to Oban 3-4 times a year. There are only 3 Indian restaurants that I know of in Oban and having tried one of the others a few times, which was ok, I was advised to try this one. It's not on the main drag but it's fairly central on the banks of the river which runs at the back of the main street.

What a surprise. We thought with it being a Saturday, that we should go early to make sure we got a table. There was four of us and we arrived at around 6.30pm to find it was already very busy. We were ushered to a table at the front and the menus were handed out. It didn't take long before the waiter was back for our drinks order. The table next to us had finished their meal and within seconds of them leaving the table, it was cleared, cleaned, reclothed and the next set of diners were ushered in. It went like that all night long and it was noticable that a lot of the diners were regulars, as first name terms were being used. A good sign.

The menu was varied and both the drinks order and meal order were taken quickly. When asking for something that wasn't on the menu, there was no problem. We had the usual papadoms and pickles to start and what a size of a pickle dish arrived with lime pickle, mango chutney and onions, it was huge. Main courses were plentyfull and the meats were cooked to perfection. To be honest, we all commented that this would be hard to beat in Edinburgh where we had travelled from. I personally am not into the hot meals, preferring more the kormas and pasandas. This place was perfect for me.

Any down sides? None, although some people would say the decor is a bit dated but to be honest it did not distract from what we all agreed was a superb meal. 4 people all having starters and main courses with a couple of side dishes and drinks came to around £18 per head. We thought that was very good value.

It was also noticeable at the amount of carry out meals that seemed to be going out the door. The phone rarely stopped and again it seemed to be regulars that were coming in and out to pick up their meals.

You really should give this one a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubatroopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food and late night service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We ended up at the Light of India out of necessity, because it was still open when most Oban restaurants had stopped serving food. It proved to be a rather pleasant surprise. Yes, it may be old-fashioned, but the dishes and the rice pilau were tasty, the portions generous and the prices low.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a previous trip to Oban and loved it. On this occasion we again had a lovely meal. The food is delicious and the service efficient and unobtrusive. The prices are excellent and the choice on the menu is impressive. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Light of India also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Light of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing