We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of returning”

George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Scottish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant serving a range of fresh Scottish seafood, steaks and fine wines. Fish & Chip Shop situated next-door, providing traditional takeaway fish and chips and old favourites.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worthy of returning”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was there 5 years ago, and loved my take away meal. To my delight the food was just as tasty when I returned. We had Haddock and Cod and both were wonderful. But there were other options that sounded good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    131
    35
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A chippy that's open from 10am serving gorgeous chips. Just what we needed whilst waiting for the Mull ferry in dreich weather. Wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Being in the heart of fresh fish country I couldn't not have fish and chips. The fish was freshly cooked and delicious. The oil was clean and the chips, well, they were ok. All served with salt vinegar and a slice if lemon it was just the job as I sat and watched the sun go down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best by far”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

dont bother with any of the others we tried the others and wished we had gone to this one esp the haggis pudding a meal in its self

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank batbat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Chip Shop In Oban By Far”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a regular visitor to Oban with work I have tried all the chip shops and can honestly say that
The George Street chippy is by far the best, it might be one of the smallest but don't judge a book by its cover. The food is always fresh, well cooked and served by friendly staff.
The prices are very reasonable, the shop is spotlessly clean and in a great location.
Recommended+++++++++

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespaman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing