We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raniven Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$307
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$162
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
$89
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
90
47
15
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
47
15
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff street parkingguest housecontinental breakfasttwo nightslovely ownersroom was very clean and comfortableminute walkplenty choicebeautiful townenjoyed our staystuarthostsscotlandfryharbourguesthousesoap
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 155 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The b&b is close the city center, 3 minutes by walk. The room was very beautiful and clean. the breakfast is continental with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, bread, cakes, ham cheese and all you need for a really good breakfast. Wi fi available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnusson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Raniven is centrally located on Breadalbane Street, so Oban waterfront is literally minutes' walk away. The off-street parking makes leaving the car a stress-free experience. The room was spotlessly clean, and cleaned and tidied again each day while we were out. A small shower and toilet were en suite. The breakfast was continental style, but with a wide choice - fruit (real and canned), several cereals, yogurts, warm bacon, scrambled egg, and sausage, cold ham, chorizo, bread to toast, croissants, pain chocolat, waffles (for the toaster) with pouring syrups, choice of teas and coffee.... you could seriously pig out if that way inclined.

The owners were warm and helpful but not obtrusive; and we were amazed (and gratified) when Moyra told us to make our own sandwiches for a day trip from the breakfast stuff: not the usual landlady stuff, I'm sure.

An excellent experience, and a place I'd recommend to anyone. Unless, perhaps (see other review), you're there long enough to need laundry...

Room Tip: Number 1 at the back of the house has a proper bathroom rather than a sectioned-off en suite (we didn't have it, but I noticed as we left).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had an excellent stay here. The owners were efficient and friendly whilst being non intrusive. The room was spotless and well furnished; each time we came back from sightseeing the room had been freshly cleaned and made up. The breakfast is amazing, really good quality and range of food. We asked if they would make sandwiches for our trip to the islands and add the cost to our bill and were amazed when we were told just to help ourselves from the breakfast bar to whatever we wanted for the day - this is very generous and certainly not standard. Off street parking takes away potential stress. I can't recommend this Guest House highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at Raniven briefly on my way through Scotland. It is a nice tidy B & B and the owners are so welcoming and friendly.

They offered up great tips on things to do and places to see while I was in Oban. The rooms were tidy and facilities were great.

I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in Oban. Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max-o-million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We selected this place because they advertise that they have a coin laundry so we planned our stop here for this very reason. Unfortunately, the dryer did not work at all, our clothes remained wet, despite removing more & more clothes until just our underwear was left in the machine. We ended up putting at least £12 into the dryer before giving up. Though Moyra tried to be helpful by allowing us to hang our clothes on the line, it was evening & the clothes were still not dry by morning. The next morning they showed us a list of comparable prices for doing laundry in town. I explained that it was not so much the price as the fact that our clothes were still wet. Instead of apologizing for the dryer not functioning properly, Stu insisted it worked fine & was upset that we asked for a discount of the £12 from our bill, which he balked at and then ended up reducing it by £5.
The B&B has a good location, it is clean, and the continental breakfast is fine. It was the proprietors attitude about the clothes dryer that was inappropriate. As a contrast, the very next night we stayed at a B&B where the first thing the owner asked was whether she could do our laundry (for free!!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews