We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #66 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

stayed here on way home from a festivel! staff couldnt be friendlier! very reasonable room price aswell! no complaints atoll! great location aswell 2 minute walk from shops,bars etc would deffinately reccomend this place to stay if in oban!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff very nice breakfast good. Our room facing the railway and ferry terminal so we heard the ferry early in morning. Room was clean bed was good. free wi-fi. Room was up two flights that might not be suitable for some. No car park but car park opposite is £5 for a day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knockando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was awful,the room was very poor the bathroom was discusting with leaking shower,no toilet roll holder.the room was no better with no wardroe door & 3 coathangers for 2 people for 4 days & no hairdryer.I wanted to leave after day one.On leaving we were not asked if we ejoyed our stay.We will never be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked an overnight stay back in March and understood I had booked a single room. On arrival I checked in at the bar and was allocated an attic, twin bedded room. I was told my room was to be found up two flights of stairs - no lift and no offer of help with luggage (I am a woman in my late 60's). The room was rather dilapidated - stains on carpet, lots of stains and marks on the walls, broken bathroom tiles, broken wood at side of bath, broken window handle, big gap between window pane and window frame in small bathroom window, windows that wouldn't open, very thin walls (the sound of people going to the toilet in the night was so loud it woke me up) and the painted wooden window frames were peeling and very grimy. I was told that breakfast the next day (Sunday) was served until 10am but at 9.20 the next morning a member of staff was knocking on my door to ask when I was coming down to breakfast. I think this is unacceptable but, I think, even more unacceptable was being told that I had to settle the bill for the room on the day of arrival, not the next morning like everywhere else I've ever stayed.
On the plus side though, check in at the bar was through a pleasant staff member, the bath, basin and toilet were clean, the bed was clean and comfortable, there was a hairdryer, television and tea and coffee making facilities and the breakfast was alright too. On the whole, my stay at the Kelvin Hotel, was not a pleasant one and was definitely not good value for money. During my holiday in Scotland I stayed at two other hotels/b and b's that were both very clean, warm, comfortable, immaculately presented and with staff that were friendly and helpful and were available all day and evening - they both charged less than the Kelvin Hotel. I wouldn't consider going back there and couldn't recommend it to anyone either

Room Tip: Rooms at the front probably have a more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange44wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and it while it wasn't first class it was ok which is why I decided to stay here again. However, this time tired old room, paper thin walls, WiFi that didn't work and a truck load of workmen hogging the breakfast 'buffet' and slamming doors - very unpleasant and quite frankly not worth the money. The cooked breakfast consists of bacon, sausage, beans and fried egg - no they couldn't cook scrambled egg for me. I didn't dare ask for anything vegetarian. While the owners and staff are friendly it appears as if they are only concerned with accommodating workies! Would not recommend unless you are a workie!!

Room Tip: If there are any good rooms I don't know where they are - just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well it was for one night on our week company business trip but it was good. Right near to sea side, will come back again. Was there for work and enjoyed well. Drive was nice. Knowing the local and getting blid drunk and the dog is very friednly and well he definetly needs the attention and wont like it otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wanted to say a massive thankyou to Sheena for a nice wee chat and Andy for his friendship.. Such a lovely place run by lovely people in a friendly and beautiful town.. Could not have asked for more!

Definetly 5 stars ;-)

The Pharmacist xx

Room Tip: Nice wee bar :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HhhJjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $61 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kelvin Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Oban, ideal for Argyll and the Islands, this small Scottish hotel is one of the town's oldest buildings, with a lounge, small bar and views of the waterfront. A Grade B listed building, Kelvin Hotel has wonderful views over the water towards Mull and beyond. The hotel offers free parking at weekends, and is within easy reach of excellent transport links. The ferry terminal and the bus/train stations are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing