We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend wedding”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #67 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Sheena was unwelcoming and unfriendly, and seemed to spend most of her time propping up the bar. When we complained about service we were told that this is a one star guest house, not a hotel as advertised. Our rooms were dirty and cold, with light bulbs and hairdryers not working. At breakfast we had to make our own tea, coffee and toast [never done this before] 10 of us came down to Oban for my brothers wedding and none of us would ever stay here again. We also asked Sheena on Saturday if my disabled mother could come in and wait for the rest of the family, she suggested we go to another hotel, is it just me or is this appalling behavior? As I said we will never go here again, and I would never recommend this place to anyone else EVER.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

a freindly local pub atmosphere. not a great choice of beers but well made up for by the friendly and engaging staff and locals. good service and breakfast. the rooms we had were clean and spacious and the hotel side was quiet. Sheena, Shauna and Jamie our hosts were excellent company and treated us like family members. next time we are back in Oban we will definately visit again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the ferry terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GShannon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a short weekend break here last year,a very friendly hotel,short walk into town,parking facilities opposite hotel so no prob there,the room was small but clean and tidy,quiet time of year so no noise but don't think this hotel would put up with it anyway.we got the short stay on a special,£55 for two Bed breakfast,it is near the ferry terminal and railway station,so easy to get to the islands ,and about.the breakfast was excellent ,and did not have to wait long for service .the bar was very quiet at night ,but it was early in the year,I would go back for short stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montgomery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here while working in the area. Favoured by visiting workers, etc. Decent hotel with a bit of character, provided by Sheena (owner) and Shauna (barmaid). Has a steady local clientele in bar, occasionally live music. My room was very clean and serviced daily. Very friendly atmosphere. Could improve evening meal availability. Has wifi but it's unreliable in rooms, best in bar. Some street noise especially at weekends. Handy for ferries and town centre. Parking at rear 1800-0800 in council car park, or on street p&d.

Room Tip: rear rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were made extremely welcome at the hotel by Sheena and her staff. We had a very comfortable, spotlessly clean room on the first floor overlooking the ferry terminal. Beds were comfy and warm with good linen and a well proportioned shower room with nice soft towels.

Breakfast in the bright restaurant was superb, Sheena uses only the best of ingredients and her well cooked breakfasts were tasty and filling. Service at breakfast was very efficient with nobody having to wait very long for food despite a good number of guests deciding to breakfast at the same time when we were there.

The hotel has a nice wee bar, drinks served by pleasant girls, great to have a quiet drink on a wet Oban evening.

There is a large car park opposite the Kelvin but there is also some handy on-road parking at front of hotel.
The hotel is close to restaurants and bars and very convenient for guest wishing to use the ferry to the islands.

Without a doubt we will choose the Kelvin Hotel on any future visits to Oban, and would have no qualms in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night and the room was clean & tidy. We also had free wifi which was brilliant. The breakfast was very good but my orange juice had green stuff floating around in it. (Mayb just opened and put to back of fridge). It's in a great location for all of Obans shops, cafes, pubs and public transport etc. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddyisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Forget all this snobbish 'STAR' nonsense, this small Hotel suits a purpose,it's clean comfortable and most welcoming, a stone's throw from the ferry and town centre.Breakfasts are not be missed,well cooked, not too much but then not too little,served by the lovely Joanne. there is no false smiles in this establishment, The lounge bar is well run with an unobtrusive pool table and a wee library of books if one is inclined that way.no complaints.

Room Tip: avoids the hustle and bustle of the town centre,heard nothing in slumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kelvin Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Oban, ideal for Argyll and the Islands, this small Scottish hotel is one of the town's oldest buildings, with a lounge, small bar and views of the waterfront. A Grade B listed building, Kelvin Hotel has wonderful views over the water towards Mull and beyond. The hotel offers free parking at weekends, and is within easy reach of excellent transport links. The ferry terminal and the bus/train stations are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing