We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenbervie Guest House
Ranked #47 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, good central location”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in the attic room which meant I had to stand on a chair to see out velux windows which was a disappointment but ensuite room was nice. Breakfast was OK but no porridge which I like in the morning however husband enjoyed his poached eggs. Good location you can get into town within 5 mins from front garden, view from here was wonderful. Nice friendly hosts.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
37
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Friendly and welcoming, immaculately clean and very convenient for the town. Room was not enormous but had everything we needed with the benefit of a large residents' lounge which we made good use of. Breakfast was excellent. One morning we had an early start for the ferry to Mull and a Continental breakfast was available at 6.30 for us. We'll certainly look at staying again if we're back in Oban.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Overall very nice, room a little small but tasteful. Decent breakfast, warm people

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Glenbervie is a lovely building in a great location. All the rooms are very clean, lovely decoration and comfortable. The public lounge is a nice room to sit and watch television or read and chat, however, it did get quite cold. The breakfasts were nice and a good start to the day

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy,Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Wonderful place to stay on our tour of Scotland,the accomodation was great very comfortable,breakfast was delicious,spotlessly clean everywhere a real credit to the owners
Will definetly return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSYelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in a single room and thought the people and accommodation were great. Husband and wife are very accommodating, and were very understanding about my arrival on the late ferry. The location is a 5-10 minute walk from the train station/ferry terminal. Only slight negative point was that they couldn't accept a card payment in advance over the phone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My wife and I travel to Argyll, on business, several times each year. Oban is the ideal location to use as a base from which we can visit customers throughout this beautiful area of Scotland. When you are staying away from home, either on business or holiday, it is important to be able to look forward to the best possible accommodation at the end of each day.
Over the past few years we have stayed at many different Guest Houses without quite finding the quality, standard and enviroment which would make us look forward to returning, until now ! We have discovered Glenbervie Guest House, owned and managed by Iain and Joan Auld.
From the moment we were warmly welcomed at the front door and accompanied to our modern, tastefully decorated room we knew that we had at last found our ideal location. Iain and Joan have created a relaxed and high quality ambience throughout the house, and with full occupany of their 8 rooms, (always a good sign) at the time of our stay, always had time for conversations with their guests, providing a wealth of information regarding the local area, attractions, restaurants, travel etc. Their enthusiasm for Oban and Argyll is very genuine. We enjoyed very comfortable and peaceful nights' sleep and woke refreshed each morning. Breakfast served in a dining room which commands one of the best views in Scotland, overlooking Oban Bay. Whether your preference is for a cooked or continental option, an extensive selection of fresh, local produce is available.
We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greencourt Guesthouse
Greencourt Guesthouse
#37 of 93 in Oban
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.4 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.2 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#49 of 93 in Oban
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie Guest House

Property: Glenbervie Guest House
Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenbervie an STB 4* Guest House is beautifully situated overlooking Oban Bay and commands magnificent views to the islands of Kerrera and Mull, yet is only 5 minutes from town centre. Your hosts Iain and Joan have welcomed guests to Glenbervie since 1982 and in that time have tastefully refurbished this Victorian house to a luxurious standard, comprising of 5 double rooms, 1 twin room and 2 single rooms. Off street parking for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenbervie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbervie Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing