We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Cliff Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$241
$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,292
$212
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$140
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$156
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
224
39
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
39
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslismore roomguest housetoilet seatbreakfast menu isscallopslovely couplebrilliant stayshort walkrooms are beautifulvaried choicegreat hostshome from homepacked breakfastrecommend staying herewithin easy walking distancequiet locationfantastic breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 274 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights in July. Good location near the town centre by foot. Room quite small and the decor a bit wild. Ok if you like lots of shiny curtains and glass baubles and ornaments everywhere. It was a bit too much - verging on the tacky. Breakfast was good apart from day 2 when my husbands bacon was burnt to a cinder and was uneatable. The breakfast was also huge - more is not always good. My main quibble is the dogs being kept in the dining room and the kitchen - a big turn off. But ok for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymakerstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were so glad we had booked in for three night at this unique and delightful B&B run by the gorgeous Maureen and her delightful partner Mike. We did not want to leave. Our camera shutters were clicking the moment we arrived - what amazing decor! Never stayed anywhere that has a glittering toilet seat! We weren't travelling light which was a bit difficult in our little twin but that small inconvenience was totally overshadowed my the warmth of our hosts and of course the delightful Robyn and her two fluffy mates. We would go to Scotland again just to stay at High Cliff (:-).

Room Tip: Just ask for one of the rooms in the front
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night before catching ferry to the isles.. Convenient location, walking distance to town. Room small, becomes tricky if you have anything more than weekend bags. Decor an acquired taste. Range of options available for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loveborderterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at High Cliff for 4 nights (10 Aug to 14), the welcome we received could not have been warmer. The house is immaculate, from the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. The beds are comfortable, the location is quiet which made for a good night's sleep. Star attraction - Maureen's breakfasts. You would be hard pressed to find better in a top class hotel, the choice and quality was first class, order the night before and your food is freshly cooked, served in the lovely dining room. When we go to Oban again we will look no further and go back to High Cliff. Best wishes to Maureen and Mike for the future. The location is good and there is off road parking, just a 10 minute walk to the harbour and town centre. Maureen had some good information on places to visit and to eat out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlracer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Taken together it is difficult to flaw High Cliff. It's obviously maintained by someone who is passionate about hosting. A great deal of thought has gone into decorating the rooms. The highlight of the stay was breakfast. Served in a sumptuously decorated dining room, around a large beautifully adorned dining table. It has to be experienced to be believed. If I was pushed to find flaws, well, some might find the room we stayed in a bit small (but there were larger rooms), and the pull chain flush on our toilet was a bit iffy. I would recommend it here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitedRecently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews