We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B & B with lots of exceptional extras” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Cliff Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Cliff Guest House
Ranked #29 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant B & B with lots of exceptional extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We changed our travel plans at the last minute and found this fabulous B& B. What a find! Maureen welcomed us into her beautifully decorated home of which she is rightfully quite proud. The rooms were spotless and decorated very uniquely. You would have to see the rooms to appreciate the details like a silver glittered toilet seat and flat screen television hidden in the foot of the bed. A remote control raised the television for viewing and returned it to its hiding place. The dining room was a treat in itself. Again, all of the lovely details added to the experience. Our breakfast was delicious! Gary prepared me an omelette with cheese which was perfect, and my husband had the traditional breakfast. It was one of the best breakfasts we had in Scotland. When we return to Scotland, this place is on our list of "must stay here again".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
129
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived at the High Cliff in pouring rain and told Maureen that we had a reservation, to which she looked at us like she didn't register a word and told us it would be 40 pounds per person. Apparently, she didn't have our reservation (but she assured us, repeatedly - by which I mean at least 4 times) that it was fine and she trusted us. We asked about breakfast and if there was a menu to select from and she told us not to worry and we could have anything we wanted and to just tell her. Well, we attempted to tell her that we wanted porridge with whiskey sauce, but she wasn't available or around for us to tell her, and we finally caught her husband later in the evening and told him. Needless to say, there was no whiskey sauce, but the porridge itself was perfectly decent.
Also to note, Maureen couldn't figure out how to turn the heat on in our room.

Other than the absolutely bizarre experience with Maureen, the room was lovely with a very nice atmosphere. The room is clean and the bathroom has a very fun spin to it with a funky mirror and sparkly aspects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had the privilege to stay at this amazing guesthouse in August. Everything about our stay here was great. Maureen is a lovely lady who runs an extremely "well-oiled machine".
We loved our room with the glitzy toilet seat , sparkly mirror and wonderful soaker tub. It was fun just staying in our room. The breakfasts were our very faviourite in all of Scotland. They were above and beyond the typical bacon and eggs. You must try the "Whatever you want" omelette. We really felt like royalty in the dining room. Gary was very attentive and gracious. He made sure that we had whatever we needed. Oban is a lovely town to visit. We will most certainly pass on our good fortune to our Canadian friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlb58Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at High Cliff for 6 nights. The house was beautifully decorated, the breakfast delicious,
the host Maureen very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice and tidy and the bed very
comfortable. Maureen gave me a lot of information about what to do in Oban and about
her wonderful house. She's very eager to make guests feel welcome and even drove
me to the station when it rained. I really felt at home at High Cliff. The B&B is easy to reach
(only a few minutes from the station) and the neighbourhood is very quiet. All in all I can
highly recommend this excellent place which truly deserves the term "luxury" B&B. This
is the place to stay when you go to Oban! Thank you, Maureen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed one night 25th August, wish it had been more. Maureen greeted us at door, very friendly.We stayed in the Tiree room - it was beautiful, as is the entire house. Breakfast amazing, varied choice. Ten minute walk down short hill to town. Back up no bother at all.You won,t be disappointed, Go see for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at High Cliff for one night to look at Oban then catch the ferry to Mull. The owner, Maureen, is very proud of her house and was most welcoming and helpful. She had lots of useful information about the town and places to eat. Our room and the property overall has been lavished with attention to top-quality fittings and decor. We had a room with comfy twin beds, striking decor, free wi-fi, TV, kettle, and loads of tea, coffee, biscuits etc There was a very nice ensuite shower room with a big shower enclosure. An excellent breakfast was served at a single large dining (nay, banquetting!) table with attention to every detail down to crystal glassware. There is off-street parking and the property is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. Quite an experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for one night. This was a nice B&B with very modern decor but a classic house. We stayed in the Lismore room. It was relatively small but well thought out with an ensuite bathroom. The decor was quite glamorous. Not really to my taste but it did feel very new and there was a nice quality feel to the room and the place as a whole. Everything was very clean except the throw which goes over the bed which had quite a bit off fluff and hair on it; often in hotels these things are never cleaned so i chuck them off the bed. The bed was very comfortable but a bit short (im 6ft tall) as it has a hard end on it where the TV rises up from. The rooms are moderately priced as they do include breakfast but its certainly not a cheap place to stay.

Maureen was very nice and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was good and large with a wide selection of teas, coffee, cereals etc to help yourself too and a generous cooked breakfast which you could tailor to your own preferences.

Parking is fine you just need to be able to parallel park along the side of the parking area. The location is good its a ten minute walk into the centre of town but its much quieter up on the hill which makes for a more pleasant stay as the town can be busy and parking scarce. If you arrive before check (4pm) in you can park at the house and wander into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phototropic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
1.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#20 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thornloe Guest House
Thornloe Guest House
#21 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cliff Guest House

Property: High Cliff Guest House
Address: High Cliff Glencruitten Road, Oban PA34 4EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — High Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Cliff Guest House has been a B & B in excess of 100 years awarded a 4 Star PLus we take pride in our hospitality and our reputation. Situated in a quiet part of town a few minutes level walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your High Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cliff Guest House Hotel Oban
High Cliff Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing