We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time round, and still a great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunheanish Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second time round, and still a great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our second visit to the Dunheanish B&B and it was as good this time as it was last time we stayed.
William and Linda have an excellent place, which they keep very clean and tidy. They are good hosts and will do what they can to help make the stay as comfortable as possible.
The front of the B&B has great views across the harbour and the bay due to its elevated position in Oban. The only downside to this, is when walking back from the town it is quite a steep climb. But, it burns off some calories after an excellent meal in one of the excellent restaurants recommended by William.

William also serves up a really good breakfast and will chat to his guests without being too obtrusive.

All in all, a really good B&B and one we will go back to time and time again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front (1, 5 & 6) have fantastic views across the bay to the Isle of Mull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    42
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
54
358
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was the best stay during our trip in Scotland. The place has an excellent location facing the harbour and rooms are nice, especially the ones having a view to the sea. Both owners are very friendly and we felt really welcome after long drive from Edinburgh. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had two overnight stays whilst travelling to and from Mull in June. We are so glad we stayed here, as it has to be the best B&B we've stayed in in Oban. A very friendly B&B with wonserful hosts William and Linda. We stayed in two different rooms and both were beautifully decorated. Great views across Oban. Breakfasts were great too. We shall certainly make Dunheanish our place to stay next year. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Dunheanish certainly was the most special and best B&B we have seen on our latest road trip through Scotland. The view across the Oban city and bay is magnificent, the house very well kept and the service exceptional. My girlfriend and I would highly recommend stopping here for a night or more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is quite simply the best Bed & Breakfast I have stayed at. This could be a ramshackle property in a poor location and you would still have a great stay due to the professional, friendly and sincere service of William & Linda. The fact the the building has some of the best views in Oban and is spotless, beautiful and comfortable simply adds to a great all round experience. Thanks to both of you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Traveling as a family, we booked 4 rooms. All were a good size; one was exceptionally large with a beautiful view of the harbour from a large bay window perfectly set up with 2 chairs, a little table and a telescope. The host was very helpful, offering suggestions for restaurants and accommodating our morning schedule. The breakfast was good - the same menu as every B&B in Scotland. This location may not suit those with physical disabilities if you want to explore the town. There is a ramp from the driveway however, it is a steep climb from the waterfront. However, being at the top of the hill, there was an exceptional view over the rooftops and across the water. Perfect for enjoying the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs room at the front with the bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent a delightful night at Dunheanish Guest House on Wednesday, June 4th, 2014. The Guest House is beautiful and has gorgeous views of Oban. William Lockwood is a delightful host and made helpful suggestions for our visit to Scotland. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully served. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Property: Dunheanish Guest House
Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing