We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hosts and house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our second stay here; this time in the brilliant room 4 with its panoramic views to Mull. A very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for William & Linda - including a card and chocolates on my birthday! The breakfasts are wonderful, the house is spotless and rooms lovely. We are already booked in again and would recommend Dunheanish to others

Room Tip: Room 4 definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 547 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The first thing you will notice are the amazing views followed by the warm welcome from your fantastic hosts!! Rooms are warm and comfortable. They are spotless also! Nothing was too much trouble, even if you wanted your wine chilled it was done for you! Breakfast was never a disappointment either with lots of choice and great food. It was perfect place to stay and we will return for sure!
Car park will test your skills but all worth it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We only had 1 night here but it was FABULOUS! The hosts were absolutely lovely, the rooms comfortable and clean and the breakfast delicious!
The sunrise was spectacular and the views from the tower fabulous.
We would stay here again and would recommend Dunheanish to other travellers.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay, wish we had longer with you!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the room with the 4 poster bed, lovely room and fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nugget00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Healthy walk up a steep hill is worth it for the view of the harbor and islands from your room. You may want to take a taxi there, but the owner can show you the shortcut back to the main street. Helpful host will guide you to the best eating and activities. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 give great view of islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_walkers21209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed with Dunheanish for our honeymoon. Lovely room, very nice and friendly host. Lovely, comfortable room. I normally feel the cold and I was warm the whole time. Great breakfast in the morning. The choice between a full breakfast or smoked salmon, but filling and well made. Easy to walk to the town and restaurants. Amazing view from our room, we could see the harbor and the landscape of the town.

Room Tip: Finding the guest house was a little hard if you are driving there as the town is on many levels. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location--an easy down hill walk to town center.
Great breakfast and comfortable, clean, nicely decorated room, but this stop on our trip stands out because of the stunning view of the harbor and islands beyond. It's even delightful when it's raining--like being in the clouds. We slept with the curtians open to make the most of the light and water outside our top floor front window. Great place.

Room Tip: Top floor front with main window to harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

William made us very welcome when we arrived and everywhere was very clean and well appointed. We stayed in room 4 which was just as it is shown on the website with a fabulous view. We had a delicious breakfast

Room Tip: Room 4 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripped44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $73 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing