We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Attained”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The walk up to Dunheanish is worth the effort, you will be rewarded with unparalleled views from a beautiful home run by a warm and welcoming host. Our room, number 5, had the most spectacular view I have ever seen or experienced. The house, which has retained many of it's Victorian architectural details, is finished with quality furniture and decoration that make for a warm, comfortable stay. Our rooms had vases of roses that enhanced the overall experience, such a nice touch. Breakfast, which is served in the dining room, with the million dollar (or pound!) view, was perfect. When booking our rooms, I requested soy milk for breakfast. I didn't even have to ask for it, William remembered this small detail. Attention to detail, friendly advise and banter, and a beautiful home make this the place to stay in Oban. I want to go back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, some have better views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Dunheanish Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We can't recommend Dunheanish enough.

Communication with William prior to our arrival was friendly and informative.

It’s a hike up the hill but no hill, no view. There are plenty of cabs outside the station after every train if the walk is problematic.

On arrival William was just as warm and friendly. He took our bags off us to store them until later in the day (we arrived on an early train from Glasgow) but gave us the room key so we could just let ourselves in after 2pm.

I had a fall up at the tower behind Dunheanish and snuck in after two to wash off my muddied clothes. William hadn't heard us come in and surprised us as I licked my wounds (I had slipped and my feet came out from under me so I landed on my back and head). He was very concerned and offered to contact the local doctor but I said I'd try and walk it out.

I did ask William if he could possibly dry out my fleece that I had washed off in the shower and he said of course.

The room 3, was beautiful. Although not facing directly out into Oban Bay it had a picture window that looked straight up the loch? kyle? towards Mull. Beautiful.

The room itself was beautifully furnished with quality bathroom products and high quality linens and towels.

Everything about the room was stylish and classy without being fussy.

The following morning William was very relieved to see me up and about (I am still in some pain nearly three weeks later).

His breakfasts were wonderful. We had been asked our preferences the night before. My partner's full Scottish breakfast was terrific and my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were superb.

William apologised for not having a front room available and for not washing my jacket instead of just drying it (I'd said not to bother). He didn't have to apologised for either.

Dunheanish was fab!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, it was fab, and didn't even have a front facing view. They will all be gre...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent one night at Dunheanish in September, and really enjoyed our stay. The weather outside was a bit cold/rainy/dreary when we arrived, but we were instantly warmed by William's hospitality! The house/room were very comfortable (we were in room 3), William was very helpful, and breakfast was delicious. Of course, I have to mention the view. Absolutely beautiful view of Oban and the sea from the house (and breakfast room!). The house is an easy walk into town (the walk back is a bit uphill, but not terribly difficult) and to McCaigs. We will definitely stay again when returning to Oban!

Room Tip: We had room 3, which was great. However, if you want a full gorgeous view, room 4 is it...
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank pen15club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed two nights on 16th and 17th September. Fabulous room overlooking Oban and the sea. Lovely clean room, with modern bathroom. Breakfasts excellent, especially the Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg. William is a very friendly and helpfull host who seemed to have lots of time to chat to everyone. Good Car Park is a bonus. Would recommend to anyone visiting Oban.

Room Tip: Room at front overlooking Oban and sea is wonderfull.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicesterchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a gem... Breath taking views, beautifully appointed rooms and superb hospitality. Hard to think of a better welcome. Superb attention to detail, easy access to well above average restaurants. Would rate this very highly in our many and varied experiences.

Room Tip: Try to book room 4 or room 1
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ching62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wonderful views, lovely bnb. Will definitely be recommending to others. My partner and I stayed on the 24th Sept 2012. Lovely furniture and friendly owners. The views over Oban and the Isle of Mull were stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee-muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely lovely B&B with a friendly and informative owner. Great views overlooking all of Oban. Everything in Oban was walkable from this great location, but don't walk if you don't like climbing a very steep hill back to your room!

Room Tip: This B&B has great views- it's high on the hill overlooking Oban- therefore- don't stay...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.5 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $75 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing