We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton Hall Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newton Hall Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
“What a location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

A well converted church. Old details still visible. Rooms were in excellent condition, overlooking the sea-loch. We stayed in the Tiree room. The bathroom was well-equipped with a powerful shower. Bill gave us good advice on were to eat and shop. Wonderful Scottish breakfast. A place we will definitely be coming back to and recommend to everybody. Thanks Bill.

Ps. Don't forget to check next door. A kiltmaker's workshop with a friendly owner. Amazing interior.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
212
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

3rd time at newtonhall and would, nt go anywhere else, was here 25th till 27th april, just a wee break away, excellent b&b and inveraray is an excellent wee place to stay, we were in the iona suite looking on to loch fynn is beautiful would recommend to anyone and bill and janice are great hosts. Thank you bill and janice will see you, s again........ x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drewHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

An interesting building which has been modernised beautifully. The standard of the room with en-suite shower room was immaculate and most welcome after a long day. We were made to feel very much at home, Bill was welcoming and friendly (unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Janice) and his breakfasts were perfect! We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B, within walking distance of Inveraray, which was lovely and unspoilt, with breathtaking views of the loch. Also visit the castle and take time to stroll in the woods.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room in the roof with skylight window, you can still get a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely building, fantastic facilities, spacious rooms , lovely owners, great breakfast, fantastic views over the Loch, very clean, great value and walking distance to the pub. What more could you want!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Arrived on new year's eve, to a typically warm welcome from Bill and Janice. Great level of comfort found, and hospitality unsurpassed. Bill manages to bring artistry to breakfast which is much appreciated by his contented guests.
Inveraray itself is a nice place to visit and Bill and Janice are more than happy to advise you of other ports of call in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have an amazing view of Loch Fyne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjonescpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family stayed here in June, 2013. Interior is fresh and modern, with 2 separate rooms and a huge bathroom. A pleasant stroll along the Loch, through town, and to the castle grounds made a memorable evening. Very scenic and convenient. Most definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Three generations of our family descended upon Bill and Janice at the delightful Newton Hall - and everyone had a brilliant time. The rooms are fabulous, the ones at the front coming with stunning views across Loch Fyne. The breakfasts were an absolute treat, beautifully cooked and plenty of it! And porridge, cooked properly the Scottish way, was a revelation too. Bill and Janice were charming hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the final wave off. Bill also went out of his way to help us plan some days out, providing map books and a pair of binoculars for good measure. And it is certainly a great base - we had a lovely day on Mull and a breath-taking drive through Glen Coe. In the evenings, the George Hotel is just a short walk away in the centre of Inveraray. It's a former Scotland bar of the year, has bags of history, and a mouth-watering menu. All round, this was a fantastic break, much enjoyed by all members of our party - aged from 13 to 85!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the B&B will give you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 16 in Inveraray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hall Guest House

Property: Newton Hall Guest House
Address: Newton Hall Shore Road | Argyll, Inveraray PA32 8UH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style seven bedroom guest house which has been recently refurbished to a standard rarely found in the industry. We are overlooking Loch Fyne with fabulous views. There is a private car park at the rear of the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newton Hall Bed And Breakfast
Newton Hall Hotel Inveraray
Newton Hall Guest House Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing