We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!”
Review of Claonairigh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claonairigh House
Ranked #6 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“lovely!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just spent three peaceful nights at Claonairigh House....
Warm welcome and homely atmosphere in a very beautiful and historic house surrounded by the forest.....
Excellent breakfast, kindness and simpleness...
Recommended to naturalist, walkers, and anyone who wants to visit the Argyll region...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 887emanuela_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmcArgyll, Owner at Claonairigh House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Fee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
77
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just spent three thoroughly enjoyable nights at Claonairigh House, a real family home. My husband, Toby our elderly Springer Spaniel and I were welcomed by Fee's daughter and given tea and biscuits whilst Toby and Holly the young Border Collie became acquainted.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from and lots of it! We slept really well-no complaints from my husband about strange beds and Toby was more settled than he has been on holiday before. Very reasonably priced too.
The house is in extensive grounds, with pigs, a goat and chickens in the adjoining field. Lots of places to walk, Inveraray and lots to do close by.
We were all made really welcome by Fee and the family and Holly.
Thanks to Fee and the family for a relaxed and peaceful three days. I recommend anyone visiting the area stays at Claonairigh.
Christine Silkstone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmcArgyll, Owner at Claonairigh House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
thanks you very much for your review, it was a pleaseure to meet you both and Toby..our Holly is a bit lonely now and so we must think of getting her a friend soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived at Claonairigh, House stressed and miserable having journeyed for 12 hours including a four- hour traffic jam between Glasgow Airport and Arrochar due to a major road closure. Having never stayed in a B&B before, and having made the two-night booking from Switzerland via internet, we had very little idea of what to expect. On entering the drive however, we breathed a huge sigh of relief. Claonairigh House was far more than we’d hoped for. A beautiful restored 18th century cottage, set in secluded grounds with chickens and the prettiest pigs I have ever seen roaming in the huge back garden - and with roses climbing up to the bedroom windows on the third floor. Inside there is a warm cosy atmosphere with the pervading smell of a log fire. We received a wonderful welcome, slept well, and ate great breakfasts. The whole family were friendly and helpful, and we were particularly grateful for Fee’s help with planning our onward journey. I would certainly recommend a multi-night stay at Claonairigh House as there is so much to see and do in Inveraray and the surrounding area. We would definitely go back. Ronnie and Maria

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombiers
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

this is the 2nd time we are hosted in Claonairigh Houseby Fiona's family, and we can't imagine another location to meet Argyll region; the traditional farm house was refurbished with great talent and tastes, decorated with reference to local history, showing evidence for continuous inheritage since built in 1745; all around are hot spots for spectacular walks, either through the moors, forests, meadows or Inveraray village; Loch Fynes is a living actor for the moving landscape, as mirroring the lights and shadows of weather; Highland Games give as well another insight of local traditions, We feel very well at Claonairigh house, and we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fc_delattre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our stay at this lovely historic old home was fantastic! The location is gorgeous and very peaceful. The home itself has obviously been lovingly restored. Fiona and family were lovely hosts, as was Holly the dog who managed to charm her way into a our hearts. Our rooms were very comfortable, I personally slept liked a log. The breakfast spread that Fiona provided was generous and delicious. Our entire experience was simply perfect. I would highly recomend a few nights stay at Claonairigh. Thank you Fiona!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbur
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The stay at Claonairigh House was very pleasant. After a day cycling in the rain the hosts offered to dry our clothes near the stove and received us very friendly in the lounge, whereas the bedroom and breakfast were very nice.
The location of the B&B is great - a bit remote from Inverary, but lovely for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed this caracterfull B&B. This is especially a good B&B for adventure people.
Thanks for the healthful breakfast, and the warm hospitallity.
Rene & Jeaninne

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
2.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
673 reviews
10.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
14.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claonairigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claonairigh House

Property: Claonairigh House
Address: Bridge of Douglas, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1745 Lairds House set in 7 acres of grounds including the River Douglas. Situated 4 miles from Historic Inveraray we provide the ideal base for touring the West Coast. Lovely countryside with golfing, horse riding, sight seeing all part of the attraction. Perfect forest tracks for cycling and walking straight out of our gate. A warm welcoming Family run B and B. One double room with 4 poster bed and two twin rooms, all en suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claonairigh House Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing