We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Farm Hideaway”
Review of Claonairigh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claonairigh House
Ranked #4 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Farm Hideaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our stay at this lovely historic old home was fantastic! The location is gorgeous and very peaceful. The home itself has obviously been lovingly restored. Fiona and family were lovely hosts, as was Holly the dog who managed to charm her way into a our hearts. Our rooms were very comfortable, I personally slept liked a log. The breakfast spread that Fiona provided was generous and delicious. Our entire experience was simply perfect. I would highly recomend a few nights stay at Claonairigh. Thank you Fiona!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
77
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinbur
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The stay at Claonairigh House was very pleasant. After a day cycling in the rain the hosts offered to dry our clothes near the stove and received us very friendly in the lounge, whereas the bedroom and breakfast were very nice.
The location of the B&B is great - a bit remote from Inverary, but lovely for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed this caracterfull B&B. This is especially a good B&B for adventure people.
Thanks for the healthful breakfast, and the warm hospitallity.
Rene & Jeaninne

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I loved my stay at Claonairigh. Beautiful surroundings in this historic house. Family delightful and most helpful with generous breakfasts - grilled grapefruit excellent. I t was a great start to my journey around Scotland and an easy drive from Glasgow. The whole experience from booking and receiving driving instructions was stress free. My only issue was trying to remember how to spell the name of the house. Thankyou for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

A lovely warm welcome, a good large comfy room, super breakfast what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fiona was an excellent hostess - tea and cakes on arrival, comfortable and well appointed room, excellent breakfast which set us up for the day. Highly recommended ( don't forget midge cream!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We haven't stayed in a B&B very much in fact this is only the second one, so we are fairly new to this. However I must say it was a fantastic experience right from making enquiries and booking with Fiona, to actually staying in the house. We had a lovely warm welcome with tea and biscuits provided straight away. The room was lovely and cosy with plenty of room and with a four poster bed! As for the breakfast, it was so nice we didn't need anything further to eat for hours! Thank you Fiona for a lovely stay. If we return for a holiday on Mull next year we will certainly be booking another night next year. We look forward to it. Thank you for making us feel so at home and welcome. John and Hilary

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
2.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,410 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
665 reviews
10.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
357 reviews
14.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claonairigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claonairigh House

Property: Claonairigh House
Address: Bridge of Douglas, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1745 Lairds House set in 7 acres of grounds including the River Douglas. Situated 4 miles from Historic Inveraray we provide the ideal base for touring the West Coast. Lovely countryside with golfing, horse riding, sight seeing all part of the attraction. Perfect forest tracks for cycling and walking straight out of our gate. A warm welcoming Family run B and B. One double room with 4 poster bed and two twin rooms, all en suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claonairigh House Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing