We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emma and David”
Review of Claonairigh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claonairigh House
Ranked #7 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Amazing place to enjoy nature. Beautiful and well preserved house located in gorgeus stage.The room was very comfortable and good decorated. Very welcoming and warm hosts.Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at Claonairigh House on our way to Islay. It was a perfect beginning. We stayed in the Pooh Bear Room at the top of the house with wonderful views all around. Everything was comfortable. Fee and Garret has made a wonderful job of renovating this old building. They were also such a wondeful friendly and welcoming family. Our only problem was that we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Claonairigh (pronounced “Cloonery) House is in Argyll, a beautiful land of misty lochs and moody mountains. It’s just outside the village of Inveraray, an attractive cluster of whitewashed gabled buildings, astride an iconic Scottish castle. The B&B is within striking distance of the Isle of Arron, Argyll Forest Park, and the coastal resort town Oban.

Owners Fiona and Garrett Corner are the consummate hosts, making their guests both comfortable and informed. Fiona cooks “a pretty mean breakfast”: delicious and plentiful. The whole family is friendly and gracious. They renovated Claonairigh House themselves, putting care into every detail.

The Inveraray Castle wasn’t open during our late-winter visit, but we enjoyed the Historic Jail, and had a wonderful dinner in town at The George, a frequent recommendation of the Corners.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mcbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here more than once and have always found Fiona And Garret extremely welcoming hosts. The house is charming and full of character, with superb views over the surrounding hillsides. Very quiet location, but Inveraray is only 3.5 miles away there is no footpath so transport is needed as you take your life in your hands if you try to walk along what is a very busy road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Lovely hosts, great breakfast options and picture perfect rooms - you couldn't ask for more for a Scottish B&B experience.

We arrived on a fairly miserable wet summers day and were welcomed with tea and a scone which was a great start to a lovely nights accommodation - would have loved to stay for longer. Great breakfast, real, delicious coffee and a really friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights at this lovely place. We had the double room and it was magical, just like out of an old movie! Service is just perfect and Fiona and her husband are always there for you if you need anything! And when the night came, you can borrow a horror dvd, sit back in the old rocking chair with the wind and the rain hitting towards the window, and just enjoy the cosy and eerie countryside feeling!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for five nights at the end of a three-week holiday in Scotland. We stayed in the Winnie-the-Pooh room, up two flights of stairs in a 1740's "laird's home". The room was immaculate, with great views of the countryside on one side and an old mill and a small cottage on the other. A climbing rose was just beginning to bloom just outside our windows.

Fee and her husband are gracious hosts, and Fee offered us advice on what to see and do in the area. Unlike other B&Bs where we stayed, our room and bathroom were cleaned each day while we were out and about, which was a nice surprise.

We had many options for breakfast in a delightful room with a large fireplace filled with an antique stove. I grew particularly fond of the home-made bread twists that Fee made each morning.

The B&B is located just 4 miles south of the historic royal burgh of Inverary, in an area where there was plenty to see and do. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience, as did my sister.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MFonesOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inveraray hotels
2.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,541 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Newton Hall Guest House
Newton Hall Guest House
#2 of 14 in Inveraray
385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
465 reviews
3.7 mi away
No 15 Bed & Breakfast Furnace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claonairigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claonairigh House

Address: Bridge of Douglas, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range: $27 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1745 Lairds House set in 7 acres of grounds including the River Douglas. Situated 4 miles from Historic Inveraray we provide the ideal base for touring the West Coast. Lovely countryside with golfing, horse riding, sight seeing all part of the attraction. Perfect forest tracks for cycling and walking straight out of our gate. A warm welcoming Family run B and B. One double room with 4 poster bed and two twin rooms, all en suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claonairigh House Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing