We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were impressed!”
Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #8 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

lovely place to stay and excellent fresh handmade food ww

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were staying in Inveraray for only one night to attend a wedding, but in hindsight wish we had stayed for longer after our experience in The Old Rectory. We stayed in Ardbeg and were instantly blown away with the size of the celings and the size of the bath which was more of a tub/swimming pool! The room was clean and presented extremely well with coffee/tea facilities, TV and stunning views over Loch Fyne.

Ever since our initial contact via the website June was extremely friendly and accomodating. She was able to arrange for the room to be available early for us so that we could change before the wedding and ensured our stay at the hotel was comfortable and well catered for throughout. The Hotel was easy to find and the off street parking around the back with access through the garden made everything hassle free and very convenient.

The breakfast was fantastic and prompt, really setting us up for the day, especially after a late night with friends!

For £90 we felt it was real value for money given the views, quality of the room, decor and breakfast, not to mention the size of the bathroom!

In all we would highly recommend this to anyone wanting somewhere with a more personal touch and without the crowds. It's positioning also means you're sufficiently outside of the main town centre to avoid the crowds whilst close enough to access all the key locations.

Room Tip: Ardbeg for the large spacious bath tub and fantastic views over the Loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our itinerary only allowed us one night but we would have stayed longer both for the wonderful service and the perfect location. We had the family room on the third floor and the views of the loch were fantastic - I could have sat in the window all day and watch the weather change! Our room was spacious for a building of this age - we had our own bed, and our daughter had her choice of two other twins! The building itself is geogous - so great that they've restored it so well as the new ('09) owners. Breakfast was lovely as well and June was so helpful with everything. If we'd had more time, we could have enjoyed the great conservatory and the garden in back too.
Town is also a wonderful place, lots of cute shops and restauarants and and easy base for lots of day trips.

Room Tip: if you don't mind stairs, the views from the top floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Recently stayed here for two nights whilst attending a family event in the area. The views were simply stunning from our downstairs room, breakfast was fantastic and June could not have been more helpful. We would highly recommend anyone planning to visit this beautiful part of Scotland to stay at The Old Rectory where you will find a fabulous welcome, modern decor in stunning surroundings. Rate was excellent and great value for money. We will most certainly return. Michele and Tim

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here last week during a family holiday to Scotland. This B&B was undoubtedly the best place we stayed. Great house, hostess, breakfast and location. If that wasn't enough, it was also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Myself and Tracey spend a couple of nights at The Old Rectory and loved it. Amazing views, over Loch Fyne, great rooms and a wonderful hostess in June who runs the B&B. Its located right on the loch with only the road between the front door and the water and most of the rooms have simply serene viewing of some of Scotland's most beautiful backdrop landscaped. June makes you feel right at home and as its only a few hundred yards from the town center The Old Rectory could not be better situated for its combination of peace, tranquility, views, service and amenity. Now that's hard to beat. Love Inverarary too. Great highland town with genuine down to earth friendly folk. Go there, and see June.

Jim & Tracey
www.sellusyourcurrency.co.uk

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The place is nice (it has recently been redecorated) : our bedroom was very clean, we has a gorgeous breakfast. The view on the loch too is very nice at any time of the day (especially early in the morning).
June who welcomed us is a very nice person ; she gives something more to the place, she makes you feel at home ! She managed to give answers to all our questions (especially concerning the restaurant we really enjoyed very much). Indeed a good place to stay at !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inveraray hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
718 reviews
0 mi away
Newton Hall Guest House
Newton Hall Guest House
#2 of 14 in Inveraray
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,558 reviews
6.7 mi away
No 15 Bed & Breakfast Furnace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: The Newton, Inveraray PA32 8UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing