We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Scottish Gem”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A true Scottish Gem”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I have visited this hotel 5 times over the past 2 years, its simply never tires. The rooms are fantastic and we're always excited to see if we can stay in a different one each time. The hotel has various different themed rooms in the main building with additional rooms in a separate part of the hotel to the rear, we certainly haven't stayed in those, as yet. Our favourite room to date has been The Library, which has a huge bed, a really cosy lounge area with a large Jacuzzi bath. The staff are all really friendly and are very accommodating with any request. The food is always excellent, especially the breakfasts, which is one of our favourite bits, especially the haggis, which they deliver to your door at a time of your choosing, now that's what I call service!! Everytime we have visited there has always been entertainment on at the weekends, which is great as the bar/restaurant area has a really nice homely feel, mixing locals with tourists giving a great atmosphere. The hotel is located in a great part of the world with lovely walks on your doorstep. If you look hard enough you can always pick fault with something, but any little niggles are way outweighed by how lovely a stay at this hotel can be. Its certainly a firm favourite of ours and we hope to visit it many more times in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    349
    103
    68
    42
See reviews for
177
708
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in the George on numerous ocassions and it gets better every time. The location is ideal and inside the hotel is full of character although has very modern touches. Food was amazing as always.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked The George as a very last minute decision. The George offers several room classifications,the high end rooms:The Merchants',The Library,The Masters and finally the usual standard rooms. We booked very last minute and were allocated a Master room,the receptionist did mention it had a colour theme going on.She was not joking. We opened the door to be met with a deep crimson tide,from the carpet up to and including the coving and the entire low beamed ceiling, absolutely nothing was spared. The lighting consisted of several low watt lamps and a few ceiling spotlights at the far end of the room. There was one window which allowed in a certain amount of daylight. But,at certain points of the day,say first thing in the morning,reading the labels on the filter coffee bags proved impossible.I had to make coffee whilst standing in the ensuite. The bedroom cups were far too small for the filters and it is very footery first thing in the morning.
The room itself was very clean,the linen was to a high standard and the beds were comfortable.Unfortunately,the furniture was very chipped, there was veneer missing in places on the drawers and some of the drawers were missing their handles. Sadly, something that could have been so easily repaired and restored to it's original state. This was not shabby chic, this was well matched, ill cared for furniture and no real reason for it.The ensuite was very well appointed.It was bright and spacious and had both bath and shower. The power shower was fabulous and the towels were perfect.
The service was to a very high standard. We chose to eat in the restaurant that evening. Freshly prepared food meant it was easy to add or exchange any ingredient in the dish to suit.My companion chose the mixed grill and was delighted at the cuts of meat. It is a very busy restaurant but the serving staff were always helpful and friendly and patient. There is an eclectic mix of visitors to the bars and restaurants and the atmosphere was warm and very agreeable. Breakfast was second to none and again, the same could be said for the attention to detail, in the extension with beautiful silver cutlery. Well impressed. Parking however,is at a premium.There are only spaces for four or five cars in the private car park and otherwise you may well have to pay and display if you are unlucky enough not to get one.
We did ,in time, get used to the green tartan carpet and curtains and the crimson,but I would hope there would be a little care taken to repair the furniture. It would certainly make a difference.

Room Tip: The George is situated on the Main Street.If you are a light sleeper you may want a room towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our return journey home from the Highlands as we wanted a nice place to relax and eat before travelling back home to the Isle of Man. I opted to stay at the George as it had excellent reviews on Trip Advisor with a particular emphasis on good quality food and the hotel is renowned for its fresh seafood dishes which I love.This Hotel/Pub won Scottish Pub of the year in 2011.

The Hotel/Room- We stayed in one of the themed rooms (Room 9) and chose this room after looking at the hotels website.The room was full of character and was probably one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in a hotel. It had a huge Kingsize four poster bed which was very comfortable. It also had a large Jacuzzi bath raised on a platform which was large enough to fit in two people!!We had a separate shower and toilet and were provided with complimentary toiletries including little candles for use around the Jacuzzi if you wanted a romantic bath.The room was lovely and clean and had plenty of wardrobe space and drawers.I was lucky enough to see some of the other themed rooms the next day whilst they were being cleaned and they are all unique.We plan to stay again in the George in room 6 next year for 2 nights as we had such an enjoyable experience.The cost of our room was £140 per night including breakfast but the hotel has lots of other rooms to choose from at various prices and also has family rooms.Even though there was band on the Saturday night we had a lovely peaceful sleep.

The staff were all very friendly and polite and made you feel very welcome.

Parking- Plenty of free parking in the hotel grounds.

The Grounds- There are places to sit with tables and chairs overlooking Loch Fyne. There was also a small garden set up for small children to play in.

Children/Dogs- the hotel is a good family hotel to stay in and quite a few customers brought their dogs with them into the beer garden which has an outdoor and a covered seating area for you to simply have a drink or a meal.

Food/Drink- We had two wonderful breakfasts in the conservatory.I preordered by e mail smoked salmon,cheese and tomatoes with salad and this was provided to me for no extra charge.A great touch. My husband said the smoked haddock with a poached egg he had was delicious.

The hotel has an amazing menu for both lunchtime and for dinner.There is also a specials board.If you are a Vegetarian you will still have loads of choice of what to eat.

We reserved a table for dinner on our second night and my husband had grilled natural smoked hake with creamy mash, mornay sauce and brocolli. I tried the Isle of Mull king scallops served with a red pepper coulis and rocket leaves - both absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced.

Useful info about Inveraray - there are 2 cashpoint machines, a pharmacy, an Indian restaurant round the corner from the George, together with various cafes and ice cream parlours.

Attractions - the Inveraray Jail and County Court Museum is next door to the hotel, the Bell Tower and Inveraray Castle are close by (easy walking distance).

We hope to come back next year and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a look at the photos of the rooms on the hotel's website and choose the room you like best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Inverary sits on the banks of Loch Fyne and is very picturesque, being all painted white and black. The George Hotel is in the high street, but owns the first house built in Inverary which has been converted into very stylish hotel rooms, with a French flair and lots of odd artefacts whilst being roomy and very comfortable.
The hotel is very well run and the staff are pleasant and efficient. There is a public bar where locals gather, and a large 'cocktail bar' and restaurant as well as the Conservatory which is a bit smarter.
The menu is interesting an much of it locally sourced, and the chef does a great job - beautiful food and generous servings.
The prices are very reasonable for what it is. Well worth staying here for the Southern Highlands, or en route to the north.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My other half and I visited The George Hotel today (22/07/13) for some lunch. We decided to sit out in the beer garden which was quite quiet but it took some time for empty glasses to be cleared from our own tables and the empty tables around us. A note inside the hotel states that starters and mains are served at the same time in the beer garden....this obviously completely defeats the purpose of having a starter. Why the management have decided on this course of action I do not know...perhaps it is to avoid having to provide table service? (you order at the bar if sitting indoors).

The cutlery in the plastic container in the beer garden was dirty and sticky as were the sauce bottles...overall, we both felt that the whole place needs a good clean.

As for the food itself...not too bad. The macaroni and cheese was tasty enough and well presented and my portion of mussels were huge! Unfortunately, they were just a tad too 'fishy' for me but came in a nice sauce which helped me eat a few more than I other wise could have. The macaroni and cheese is served with two slices of garlic bread and salad and having asked if the garlic bread could be changed for chips I was told I would have to order a portion of chips on the side (which were cremated to within an inch of their life).

Wouldn't rush back but the service from most of the staff was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1984_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Landlord very friendly, bar staff outstanding, waiting staff fantastic, food remarkable (sirloin steak best I've ever had), rooms beautiful and inveraray is a very stunning place!!! Would defiantly recommend visiting!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cireniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
669 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
363 reviews
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing