We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great atmosphere.”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I ate at the restaurant, I didn't stay here.
I have been here several times.
The food is very good indeed although the selection could be greater. The atmosphere is one of the best I've been in and is genuinely old.
The service has always been great and is reasonably priced.

(Get the steak pie)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights at the George, and also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant one evening. Everything was outstanding. The owner was very personable and funny! Most of the staff were equally as helpful and friendly, with one exception. One girls working reception one morning was very rude to us, but everything else was so great, it made her rudeness a non-issue.

Our room was just delightful...maintaining the "old world" feel with the hard wood floors, fireplace, and decor, but having all the modern comforts. Cozy, comfy beds. The bathroom was just beautiful.. had a few stairs up inside, and all trimmed in beautiful wood! Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. We had one issue with a lamp that was not working, and it was promptly dealt with and replaced.

The breakfasts were delicious, and more than we could eat! The dining room in back has great atmosphere with the woodwork and the stone floors. Our meal for dinner was exceptional, from the appetizers to the dessert. Kris, the owner, was even our server, and made sure every aspect of our dining experience was superb.

Cannot recommend The George Hotel enough.
Thank you for a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeHotelInveraray, Public Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear hcvoyageuse,

Thank you! We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I must apologise for our one slip up, and am pleased that the rest of your stay was able to outweigh this in some degree.

Thankfully, Kris is not the type of owner to be stuck in the office all day, he does enjoy getting out and helping the rest of us with the service, and occasionally we get him scrubbing the floors too! This makes the experience of working at the hotel a much more positive one.

Thank you for staying with us, and leaving this fantastic review. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went in for food and drink and had a lovely meal served by friendly,cheerful staff. Doggy friendly too! Choice of food was great, well presented and we didn't have to wait long. One of us had dessert and it was great value for money. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank scottishlassieTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed there recently making use of the Sunday Snug deal. All the staff were professional and helpful and the village itself is beautiful.
We upgraded to the Library suite as it was a special occasion. The room was great, jacuzzi and a good bottle of Prosecco on ice...
The food was of the excellent standard that we were informed it would be by friends and the bar was great too. West lager on draft is really quality beer!
Highly recommend this super hotel and we will definitely be back at some point.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel rather than the first house - breakfast can be delivered to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonygalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It keeps coming back: it's not clean. I really, really don't understand it: have a fabulous place (we stayed in the First House, so you wouldn't have the noise problems people complain about as it's behind the main building), with a wonderful view, with a really nicely designed refit/redesign, whatever you call it, and then let it go to pot. Completely. Spiral staircase up to the rooms: never cleaned in weeks. Plants and decorative pots at top of stairs: WHITE with dust. Room, with views to die for, dust, dust, dust. Paint falling off the windows. Bathroom floor full of hairs. I asked for it to be vacuumed, which they did, but there was no apology. It's like they really couldn't care less what people keep saying. It's like they take no pride in their place, which occupies a premium spot in Inveraray. The springs in the mattress on one side were gone, too. On the plus side: the meal was good, though I don't want to spend to much time wondering if the kitchen is as 'clean' as the rooms, and we had a great night in the public bar, which is for the hardcore locals.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 448WCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have not stayed in Inverarary before but as our friends daughter recommended the hotel we decided to stay. There were 8 of us on motorbikes. The weather wasn't very nice but the hotel, the rooms, the food, and the friendly staff all helped to make our weekend a great stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Just have a look at them all on line then choose the one you like best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Last year and this year again we made a stop here coming from the ferry at Newcastle, traveling to Islay. Great rooms, food and hospitality. Good bar and dinner/breakfast. A very nice point for a day or some more, for seeing the surrounding sites like the whisky shop across the road, the castle, the jail, the nature parks, so much to see and do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whisky4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
718 reviews
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
19.1 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
19.9 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: $104 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing