We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for a wee break!”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a wee break!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Get along to this fab hotel in the heart of Inverary. Fantastic food in the restaurant, great beers in the bar! The entertainment was great with atmosphere of, well just laid back, Ideally situated for anything you want to do on a wee , or long break. Staff are open, warm and welcoming.
We stayed in the annex to the hotel, best of both worlds, come and go as you please, but all the hotel amenities on tap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weegranty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    349
    104
    68
    42
See reviews for
177
709
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms, food & service outstanding only small annoyance was every time we ordered the same two drinks at the bar in the evening it's came to a different price depending who was serving you??? Overall great weekend & very nice reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatever000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a random tour and booked in to the George on a friends recommendation. Very glad we did, this is a cracking small hotel with warm, clean, comfortable rooms, a first rate pub and restaurant food that will blow your mind, especially the seafood. The staff were most welcoming and helpful and the evening entertainment was tremendous. Very much looking forward to going back another time, and certainly would have no hesitation in recommending to others who enjoy a craik.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms, they just ooze character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec56T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were in Inveraray for a random short break and were just looking for some simple pub grub, not thinking there would be anything more available. Walked into the George expecting just such a pub and were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely lovely restaurant. The decor was beautiful and the food was of a very high standard. The scallops in particular were delicious. Quite expensive but we will definitely go back if we go for another trip to stunning Inveraray.

Room Tip: Sorry just went in for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've had lunch here three times over the years, and have enjoyed it each time. It's the best place to eat that I've found in the local area. The fish and chips (made with beef dripping) are delicious, but maybe a bit rich -- this weekend I really enjoyed the mussels and chips. The hotel is currently featuring a Loch Fyne seafood menu, with lots of lovely options. I enjoy the outdoor seating area in the summer, but inside has a nice cozy atmosphere as well. Have never stayed here, but I imagine it would be very nice, as the place is well-kept and charming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResplendentQuetzal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend at the George hotel. This is our 8th year in a row going and again the place didn't disappoint. Would like to say a big thank you to Chris and his team for the excellent food, fantastic service and attention to detail in everything they do. Nothing is too much trouble for them from giving advice on local things to do to helping pick a cocktail. The George may not have the spas that other places have but what it does have is character, charm and history and you can't buy that. So thanks again and we'll def be back for nine in a row.
Ps glad to see Donald senior still about the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mocksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room we had was on the upper floor and was drab to say the least. Very dusty and spot light fittings hanging from the ceiling. Shower was terrible with little to no pressure and for most of the stay we struggled to get any hot water at all.
The evening meal was good and the food was tasty although expensive. I feel we are paying for a reputation rather than the meal itself, waiting staff were very attentive.
Over all the hotel can do with some updating, the male toilets had loo seats falling off and generally looked and smelled bad.
All in all, if i were to visit the town again I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not put your room radiator on full as during the night you will be peeling your tongue from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
673 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing