We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break for wife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Motherwell
1 review
“Birthday break for wife”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked the rejuvenation break for 2 nights for my wife's birthday. The food was superb, absolutely delicious. The service was excellent,not a single complaint, the staff were very attentive. The spa treatments very relaxing, and the two girls who attended to my wife and I were exceptional. So far sounding like a 5 star review. Sadly our room left a lot to be desired. Curtain hanging off, flickering lights, soap holder hanging off the wall, the general decor quite tired. Also our window view was of the bins. Disappointing due to the money we had paid and that everything else was perfect. Almost there but not quite, a shame.

Room Tip: Don't get room 120, looks onto bins, decor not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanhaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    759
    287
    147
    64
See reviews for
339
1,467
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 day stay which was very good. We bought a deal going which included a 90 min very relaxing massage and facial. The staff were friendly, accom was excellent and spa facilities were good. Only gripe is the hotel does not have a gym.
We visited the local jail which had actors and is worth every penny. We went local walks around some stunning scenery (hotel reception hold maps).
The food was first class and the bar nice and cosy although typical hotel prices.

Room Tip: Visit the town of Inverary Jail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just got back home from a 2 night stay and have never been so glad to be home. We booked a last minute deal and paid £119 bed and breakfast rate. If we had paid the full rack rate of £195 a night I would have been extremely annoyed. On arrival it looked nice, limited parking but we managed to get a space in the overflow car park. Upon checking in staff were nice and pleasant and gave us our room key and information about breakfast and dinner. They were very insistent if we wanted to eat in the hotel that we book a time for dinner or if we weren't fussed we could have a bar meal. Off to our room we went and upon opening the door was greeted by a small double bed! Wardrobe with the back that was coming off, bedroom furniture that had seen better days and a bathroom that whilst clean could have done with been upgraded. In general though everything was clean just needed updating especially given the cost of the room.

Later that evening after having unpacked we decided to go down to the bar for a drink. £14 later for 2 drinks and we decided to head to Inveraray to see what else was on offer.

Next morning we headed for breakfast before going off to explore the area. Whilst it was busy there were plenty of staff serving. We were shown to our table and ordered drinks and toast and shown the buffet. We helped ourselves to cereal etc and 20mins later we were still waiting on a cup of tea and toast so we decided to leave as we felt that was ridiculous wait given how many people were serving.

If we were to go back to Inveraray we definitely wouldn't be staying at the loch fyne hotel given its extortionate cost for a basic room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I returned to the Loch Fyne Hotel for the fourth time with three friends for a "girl's getaway." As I had recommended the hotel I was slightly anxious but I needn't have worried as it was as good as ever. The rooms we had - two twins - were not huge but they were adequate and had everything you might need. The food was very good on both nights and I liked the fact that the set menu for the dinner, bed and breakfast package changed each night, unlike some hotels. Also for a supplement you could eat anything off the main menu. However, for us the set menu was more than adequate. Especially good was the soup course - just a small amount of soup in an expresso cup (nice touch) but both nights absolutely delicious. They obviously have a chef who likes making soup. The breakfast menu was also very good. One of the dishes on offer was French toast with maple syrup and a bacon side - wonderful! The staff were all very nice and the maître d' kept a very close eye on everything. The pool was a nice size and a nice temperature as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Peaceful and relaxing. We took advantage of the marvellous classic Britain offer otherwise would have found the tarriffs a little expensive for our budget. Delicious and varied menu - the taster menu was very good value for money and the portions are very good. The staff are excellent and the overall atmosphere a tonic. The pool and especially the hot tub was lovely. We were prevented from taking the beautiful walks we intended because of the rain but next time would remember full waterproofs and do so any. The autumnal colours at this time of the year are truly beautiful around the Loch.

Room Tip: The suites tend to look onto the Loch and we presumed are filled up very quickly or prioritised for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedavybreaksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a midweek break and the hotel was very busy the rooms were first class and very clean
with all the usual facilities.The leisure pool was excellent with a sauna,steam room,outdoor hottub
and Jaccuzzi.There is also a Spa which I did;nt use.The dining experience is something else with a six course taster menu which was far to much, there is also an A La Carte menu.The staff were very very helpful and friendly.The lounge bar is well stocked and does meals and snacks during the day.We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giudici206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

An overnight stay while working in the area was a disappointment here. Despite asking, on booking, for a loch view room I was allocated one with a high window overlooking some roofs. It was dark and depressing with grubby fixtures and fittings. Luckily, after complaining I was given one with a view and in marginally better condition. I sound fussy, maybe I am but eg, on finding a non functioning light, I discovered that there was no bulb in it. Nobody had bothered to replace it.The dressing table mirror had been fitted to the wall completely squint. It was hard to believe that a workman could have fitted it, looked at it, and thought "thats fine" and that many housekeepers over the years (and there must have been a few years) also completely overlooked it. So my disappointments continued. In the lounge I gave up trying to get the waiter`s attention and, to amuse myself, actually timed how long it took for him to notice me - one hour. I wasnt impressed. Other tables were served. I was invisible.
Breakfast started with a dismal non greeting from a glum staff member. Food was OK but by then I was so depressed by my whole stay that I just wanted to get away. Maybe if I`d been there on some sort of discount or bus trip I`d have adjusted my expectations downward but I was paying the sort of full amount that would have bought me a much better stay in a much better hotel. I know I sound sour but I found my stay here disappointing and depressing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippysweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
20.5 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,770 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
680 reviews
8.9 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
23.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Property: Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Address: Loch Fyne Hotel Shore Street | Argyll, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing