We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't get what you pay for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You don't get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent two nignts at the Loch Fyne Hotel and Spa 25/26th March 2013 we had recieved one night DBB as a gift, and decided to stay on for one additional night.

Its an OK hotel with frendly staff who try hard to make up for the hotel failings.

The inclement weather added addition pressure on the hotel to heat up the main seating areas with additional heaters being added , however in the room the bathroom heater was not working and the main room heater was on a timer which was not ideal but just about kept the room warm. The trouser press did'nt work but not the end of the world !

The restaurant : having paid for dinner (£32 for the meal) per person you have two menu's the DBB and, A la Carte upgrade. I personally found the DBB menu limited in choice but felt a form of entrapment by having to pay additional monies for and Upgrade , on the first night i only had Eggs Benidict for my meal no starter on sweet my cost for the meal was £37.95 !
On the second evening i should'nt have gone to the restaurant as the entrapment feeling was still with me ..again having paid for DBB at (£ 32 for the meal) the DBB menue was in my opinion limited, I opted to just have a main meal from the A La Carte menu + Upgrade cost, I chose Langoustine and Haddock . We advised the staff after 30 mins that we we had not had our meal !! After 1 Hour and 10 Mins we advised the staff to cancel the meal as we still had not recieved our dishes... the resturant by now was almost empty, the head waiter said that he would deal with it and we recieved our meal, the head waiter was very apologetic and that we would not pay for the meal , by now I could'nt eat the meal . Having calculated, if I had to paid for my two nights food it would have been over £80 for Egg Benidict and Langoustines and Haddock !!! You don't get what you pay for

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    715
    260
    137
    63
See reviews for
322
1,374
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I visited the Loch Fyne hotel on a deal in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. When another deal came up we took advantage of it from 19 March to 21 March this year and once again it was an unqualified success.
This time, though our room looked out over the car park rather than the loch (we could view the Bell Tower away in the distance) it was still cosy and comfortable and perfectly acceptable to us. As well as bed, set of drawers and wardrobe,the rooom was equipped with television, hairdryer, courtesy tray with coffee and tea, shortbread biscuits, a 2 seater sofa and easy chair and the usual toiletries in the bathroom. The only (very small) minus about the room was that a little redecoration wouldn't go amiss - but we didn't come to the hotel to spend our time in the room so that was ok.
Food served in the hotel, whether breakfast or evening meal, (we didn't do lunch) is excellent.
For breakfast - fruit juices, fruit, cereals, porridge, breads, croissants,a choice of hot dishes from full scottish breakfast, finnnan haddies to boiled eggs with toast soldiers and more.
The evening meal was amazing each evening we were there. We had the six course taster plates and if we wanted a la carte we had to pay the difference. There was no need - the choices on the taster menu were sufficient.
We started with an amuse bouche (eg a tiny little piece of pate with a squidge of sauce), followed by a starter, then a little demitasse of creamed soup (eg parsnip with ginger) main course, dessert, and finally a little piece of cheese and quince jelly on tiny little cracker to end the meal. First evening for main course, we both had venison and it was delicious. The second evening I had lamb and my husband had trout and again delicious. It would be understandable to think that perhaps guests would leave the table still hungry. Not so! Both evenings we felt contentedly replete.
The young men and women on the staff in the restaurant offered the very best of service, whether breakfast or evening meal. They are very attentive, pleasant and polite, and simply can't do enough for their guests. I was very impressed by the very high standards of service exhibited on both days.
The reception staff are also very pleasant and welcoming and very helpful with enquiries and the giving of information.
The spa part of the hotel is super. The swimming pool is a reasonable size, and warm, with a jacuzzi at the side. There is also a sauna and steam rooom, and 4 long, relaxing cane chairs placed at the window which looks out over the loch. There is a hot tub outside at the back of the pool and it is fun to dash out in the very cold air and get into this tub. Then you have to sum up your courage to get out again and dash back to swimming pool. Many guests do it - not put off by the exceptionally cold weather we have had at the end of March. There are also a variety of beauty therapy treatments on offer at a price to compliment the hotel stay.
Inveraray itself is a very pleasant little town, with some nice little shops and restaurants. There is a lovely walk around the gardens of Inveraray Castle, the ancestral home of the Duke of Argyle. The castle itself was still closed so we could not visit it at this time. The intrepid visitor, wearing stout walking boots, could climb up the hill to the Bell Tower, which can be seen on the skyline above the gardens and from where a wonderful view of the loch and the surrounding hills and down the coast to Lochgilphead can be enjoyed. We did that climb the last time we were there.
I would say to anyone who reads this review and perhaps is considering whether or not to book the Loch Fyne Hotel - 'go - you won't be disappointed'.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back do not have the iconic view of the loch and the hills, but nor do they have ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katymary45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel courtesy of a Groupon deal which was just too good to pass!!!

We arrived at the hotel just as a snow storm hit the Isle of Arran and surrounding areas (about an hour or so drive away) so the whole Inveraray village had suffered a powercut, however the hotel staff carried on as normal, doing their best to assist all guests like nothing was happening!

The hotel itself is in a fabulous location with a great view but unless you book a junior suite you won't see it from your room. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is great and the portions can be huge depending on what you order. The whiskey menu is rather good too :-)

We used the spa during our stay and again the staff were just lovely - we even braved the outside hot tub !!

For us, the only downside of the hotel is the bedrooms. In desperate need of modernisation and redecoration and with the smallest bed we have tried to sleep in in a very long time - so much so, my husband slept on the floor one night. The bathrooms are very tried and oddly laid out, but a nice deep bath with an abundance of hot water kind of made up for it.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a loch view from your room you will need to a book a junior suite and there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our second stay at Loch Fyne Hotel and Spa did not disappoint. We went in 2011 and my now husband proposed in the beautiful Lagavulin Suite. We returned to celebrate our wedding anniversary and as the suite wasnt available when we booked,the friendly staff upgraded us to the Glen Ord Suite. Very generous and thoughtful. Room was stunning (fabulous view)...but admittedly very cold as the windows are draughty. Spa was lovely and the girls in there were approachable and polite,food excellent,very clean,friendly folk. Only glitch was that my husband had ordered flowers,champagne,and chocolates and they didnt come until he chased them. Complimentary chocoloate strawberries made their way to us so all was forgiven :-) Fantastic place...will be back for another anniversary soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Another fantastic Groupon deal Just a couple of minor faults Room spacious clean and comfortable Not great view but unless standing at the window for the duration of stay this is not an issue Lunch in bar both days exceptional but one strong criticism The drinks menu is very badly worded When I ordered a cocktail which any other place has been in a jug I was presented with one glass for £9.95 !!! Made full use of the spa facilities including hot tub which were good but sauna disappointingly cool - I have never seen a sauna door with a large gap underneath ! Staff were all very pleasant providing excellent service and the meals in the evening were to die for A few loud guests lol

Room Tip: 221 Not a loch view but good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed a long weekend at this gem of a hotel in a stunning location. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was outstanding. My partner and I stayed with my parents and we were lucky enough to have one room with a loch view and the other although a car park view had a super king size bed.
Only downside to the hotel is that the bedrooms need a major refurbishment as they look tired and dated but spotlessly clean.
It was bitterly cold but the bedrooms were lovely and warm, public areas slightly cool but a real fire burns in reception.
The spa is small but clean and has spectacular views of the loch and mountains.
We will definitely return and as my partner proposed, hopefully for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyLovewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here overnight in march and enjoyed the stay. The room was a bit tired looking in terms of decor, but the meal in the restaurant and the breakfast were both very nice and made up for it to an extent. We didnt use the spa/leisure facilities available. The hotel is just a short walk from the main centre of inveraray but it was absolutely freezing so we didnt walk along the front. We went to the george pub for our lunch and it was very nice too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
20.5 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Property: Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Address: Loch Fyne Hotel Shore Street | Argyll, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing