We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Easy to find with onsite details. Arrived on a gorgeous July day for a relaxing spa weekend.. greeted by friendly staff - directed to room which was spacious but no view - lower ground floor on such a nice day was disappointing but we decided to just drop bags and go out to sit at the front area of hotel grounds as benches available. A 15 minute walk into the town which on a nice day is very pleasant along the waterfront, greeted by friendly locals along the way.

Room Tip: ask for front room for view but will require advance notice as only a few rooms overlook the waterfr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICnBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    715
    261
    137
    63
See reviews for
322
1,374
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My son and I used this hotel Monday 29 October to Friday 2 November as a base for our annual hill walking holiday. We booked two standard rooms on a half board basis with a supplement for single occupancy of both rooms. On arrival check-in was efficient and we soon had the keys to our rooms. The bedrooms were adequate for one person but might have been on the small side for two people. The bed was not the most comfortable I have ever slept in the mattress had two dips in it with a high spot in the middle, which was presumably wear and tear from having two people constantly using it. The room facilities were fine with a tea and coffee tray provided and there was a small television with some Freeview channels. The room was clean and was serviced most days without any issues although on one day my son's room had not been made up by 5 pm and we had to get reception involved to put that right. The bathroom was on the small side there was no bath (not enough space) and the shower consisted of a small shower tray surrounded with wet wall and a right angled cubicle. Perfectly adequate for single occupancy but on the tight side for a couple. The breakfast service was excellent all staff were friendly and attentive. Evening meals were chosen from a table d'hote menu with the option paying a supplement for choices from the a la carte menu. In my opinion the additional charges did not make choosing from the a la carte an attractive proposition. As has been said in other reviews the table d'hote menu could be limited and while we were there the menu was changed on three of the evenings and then reverted to the same menu as we had on our first night, which was disappointing. We got around this by choosing something from the bar menu a decision with which the hotel staff were only to happy to accommodate us. The hotel has a large lounge bar but there were no Scottish brands on offer and the imported beers were more expensive and that meant we took the short walk into town and used a bar that had been voted Scottish bar of the year 2011 where prices were significantly cheaper. The Hotel has excellent facilities, nice pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and outside hot tub. For the ladies there is a treatment room for massage and other therapeutic experiences. The location of the hotel is excellent with great views over the loch. This is the sort of hotel that I would consider going back to with my wife but would probably pay the premium for a superior room. Overall the hotel has a lot going for it but if you were using it for a special break I would suggest you ensure you knew exactly what type of room was offered before confirming.

Room Tip: Better to pay a little extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

lovely place to visit hotel was spotless the staff very helpful and pleasant food great although it wont be to everyone's taste lots of fish dishes the breakfast are to die for I do love my food as you properly have guessed from other reviews the small town of Inveraray is a five min walk away and even though i say small there is loads to visit here lovely pubs nice eating places and some quaint gift shops worth a visit we visited inveraray jail pretty grim place to be sent overall lovely place to spend a couple of days

Room Tip: if and when you booked any spa visit just double check the date and time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on a deal and was great value. We got an upgrade to a suite as it was our mini moon - we'd like to thank the staff for that one, made the stay even better.

People that stay should remember that its a 3* hotel and not the Ritz......but in my view is much better than a 3* hotel - some negative reviewers may have forgotten this.

We got the rejuvenation deals which was DB&B and 3 treatments in the Spa - this was a bargain. The spa treatments were good and the pool is great for all.

Food was again very good as we got a set menu with mains, starters and tasters. Again this wasn't the Ritz but good value again. Only fault was one night the parfait was more like milkshake but the rest of the courses were good. Service also good - but you may encounter some languages difficulties - again not a biggy.

Would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone but phone to get a deal on a package.

Thanks Loch Fyne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drluvpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed dinner bed and breakfast, evening meals 6 courses (3 of them small taster dishes) All fantastic. Kids meals first class and very reasonably priced. No rushing you through your meal. Breakfast lots of choices and all fantastic.
Rooms very clean and comfortable. The only problem was the family room only had a double bed and a small sofa bed which was not suitable for a 12 and 14 yr old to share. When we asked for another fold up bed to be put into the room they couldn't but gave us a single room free of charge! Took our westie and was very welcome so long as we kept him out of public areas. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I took a couple of nights bed and breakfast here 1st to 3rd nov. Very nice and peaceful, nice cosy rooms and very clean, nice staff, lovely bar meals and thoroughly enjoyed the pool, sauna etc. no complaints whatsoever. Scenery lovely as well. All staff were very pleasant. Welcoming coal fire as you enter hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 not a great view but the room itself was nice. Ignore fitness centre rating as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

this was our fourth visit and it felt like we were back visiting friends as the staff are so friendly.
Brill food,staff and sunshine!! Used all the facilities, hot tub,pool,steam room. Had a couple of spa treatments before we left & didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: ask for front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
20.5 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Property: Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Address: Loch Fyne Hotel Shore Street | Argyll, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing