We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking in the luxuries at Loch Fyne Spa Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lacking in the luxuries at Loch Fyne Spa Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Location is fantastic overlooking the Loch, spa area was lovely and the hot tub was a nice addition, 30 min massage included in the deal was very good and I cannot fault the rooms however the food did not live up to expectations and sadly the sauce served with my venison was burnt, however when I pointed this out to the waiter/manager he went to ask the chef and came back with a comment from the chef stating it was the red currents which make the sauce taste bitter - he did not come out and taste the sauce which is usual when a complaint goes back to the kitchen, I know what red-currents taste like and they are certainly not bitter and burnt when used in cooking they can be sharp yes but not bitter and burnt. Aside from the sauce the venison was cooked to perfection just on the side of rare which it should be. The real let-down was the dessert which was described as a Brownie but was more like a steamed stodgy chocolate pudding from school; no real chocolate flavour - I would have said something but I'm sure the chef would have come back with some lame excuse.
So to sum up I would recommend staying here for the rooms were clean and the spa facility was lovely and quiet but would probably say eat at the George down the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Catherine_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    723
    263
    139
    63
See reviews for
323
1,390
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked in for a one night escape from it all break which was a DB&B with spa treatments. The hotel sits on the edge of the loch with amazing views, the pool and spa facilities were spotless and the treatments spot on with lovely friendly staff. Meals at this hotel are up with the best i have ever had and the staff again so friendly and helpfull. Our room was bright and very comfortable with everything we required. We will return to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jec205911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Arrived this evening after a hard and cold days ride it was great to get a warm welcome. The hotel is situated an the edge of Loch Fyne and is well equipped with excellent service. The room is well equipped and very comfortable. Our evening meal was superb with excellent service. A nice bar with no noisy television screens. Just remember the middy repellant!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just back from a 1 night deal that was booked through Wahanda. My husband and I stayed here on a 1 night Escape from it all break which included 1 nights stay in a double room, 1 x 30 min treatment each plus dinner and breakfast. Also included were bathrobes and slippers and a bowl of fresh fruit. On first arrival we were pleased with the surrounding and leisure facilities of the hotel. Our treatment was fine but definetely never lasted the full 30 mins despite the fact we arrived 10 mins early to avoid this! Swimming pool, sauna and steam room were nice despite being a bit busy late afternoon. I used these facilities again in the morning and had the place to myself which was lovely...

I was disappointed with the fact that I had to ask for our bathrobes and slippers and for the fruit twice before it came to our room...this should have been there on arrival!! Also disappointed with the dinner which was nothing special - ambience could have been greatly improved in the restaurant with some music. And the food was average...nothing to get excited about.

The lounge area was relaxing, nice views with a comfy seating area.

A wide selection of hot and cold food to choose for breakfast.

All in all I wouldnt visit here again - I didnt feel it was good value for money and was a slightly disappointing 1st Anniversary. This cost us £210 which could have been better spent elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I liked the pool which was much warmer than the other Crerar hotel on Mull. They charge £10 for you to hire an old dressing gown and slippers that may as well be made of paper. No designer toiletries in the rooms just their own brand of 'Crerar shampoo and bodywash', for £195 per room they could have included a wee bottle of moisturiser and toilet paper that's not the cheap sandpaper type. I couldnt see to do my make up as the rooms are quite dark with not one bright light. The staff were friendly but nothing exceeded my expectations. I have recently stayed in places in scotland just as nice for £137 less.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wee-muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here last weekend, partly pleasure, partly business. Fantastic room with two comfortable double beds; 6 course dinner, bed and breakfast. Very helpful staff and the spa was very relaxing. Meeting rooms good,

Room Tip: We didnt have a loch view room, so ask for one as I am sure it would be better than our view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Marc the manager was hands on, very welcoming and well done to you and your team for making our short stay so enjoyable, my wife loved the spa and swimming pool. The food was just great, the suite was first class and very comfortable. The view of the Loch stunning...bonnie Scotland indeed! Thank you so much we shall not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaYColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
20.5 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
23.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Property: Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Address: Loch Fyne Hotel Shore Street | Argyll, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing