We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Inveraray Castle
from $783.70
More Info
from $52.20
More Info
from $54.90
More Info
from $52.20
More Info
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,480 results
Traveler rating
826
461
135
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
461
135
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family home tea room current duke clan campbell open to the public gift shop dining room gardens are beautiful family history on display stately home woodland walk well worth a visit scones the kitchen guided tour scottish history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,480 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Inveraray Castle's open rooms were warm and inviting for such a grand structure. It felt a bit more personal than other castles that were restored to a set period due, no doubt, to the family ownership. There were cards with information for each room that helped explain what we were seeing; enjoyed seeing some amazing portraits and paintings! We walked some of the garden with the autumn colors. Overall, a nice counterbalance to other historical castles.

Thank sebkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely stunning castle and grounds, in fact we thought the whole town to be exactly as we expected and it all fitted in so well with the surrounding landscape. The castle itself is, you have to remember, someone's family home so not all of it is accessible to the public. We totally understood that and respected it. The guides were very helpful and advised us on what the best route around the rooms would be.

Quality of the decor and furnishings were second to none and your imagination plays riot trying to see the rooms in their heyday, full of the bustle of entertaining or general living. In each room were multilingual information cards packed with interesting facts and trivia, anyone that thought there was a lack of information clearly did not use these or read the placards in the display cabinets. Of particular interest to me were the old relics from Robert the Bruce's days. I found the old swords and daily living items very interesting.

The Armory was astonishing (you'll see why!) and the kitchens and other rooms well up to par with places like Osbourne House. Food in the cafe was delicious, well priced and the cafe itself very well decorated.

Due to heavy rain we did not explore too much outside but that's more than a good enough excuse to return. They even had some Hairy coo's in the grounds.

All in all we had a great visit, despite the weather. People in the town were also very friendly and the shops contained some very high quality items. Well worth a return visit.

Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, the grounds are gorgeous, and the castle is stunning. However it's let down by not a lot of obvious information about the history or things in the castle. Maybe I've been spoiled by the likes of Edinburgh and Stirling, but there wasn't a lot of learning to be done.

Most of the rooms have an A4 lamented information sheet with interesting facts on the back. They come in several different languages. For me, they were pretty forgettable.

There was an awkward moment where I wanted to get a better look at one of the fireplaces (there are two) but a group had decided to stand there and chat. I tried to catch their eye or one of the staffs for some assistance, but had to wait a good twenty minutes for them to move on.

The walk up to the castle is pretty, but long. The area in front of the castle and the path along the garden is all loose pebbles/stones. There is a 'wilderness walk' in the gardens, which is muddy/grassy etc, but a decent walk.

Thank SerenKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well worth the drive to Inveraray to visit this well maintained castle. The items in the castle and the detailed documentation - very helpful in understanding the history. Unique, beautiful setting.

1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited in late October so gardens past best but looking lovely with autumn colours. Castle rooms well laid out with a comprehensive selection of multilingual information sheets providing helpful background to exhibits. Wonderful display of weaponry in the Hall. Spectacular Dining Room display. Selection of china well displayed. Interesting reference material about the Duke and his ancestors. Castle good for a visit on a wet day but even better if dry and can also visit the gardens. Nice cafe with home baking.

1  Thank cml017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had wanted to visit Inveraray Castle and although it was raining we still visited as we could get into the castle, however the gardens were closed due to storm damage, so we just paid less to get in.
We spent quite a few hours here, and thought the castle was very nice indeed. There were plenty of rooms open to look at, and they were all well dressed for the purpose with plenty of information boards scattered around the rooms too. Some of the old period furniture and furnishings were quite lovely. The staff in each of the rooms were very helpful and pleasant too, which made for a nice visit. We were disappointed not to be able to see the gardens, which we believe are stunning, but perhaps next time.
We did go exploring the farm area more broadly, and were fortunate to see the little herd of highland cattle, which was a real highlight for us.
We then walked up the hill toward the monument on Dun na Cuaiche, but as we got closer to the top a big storm came in so we headed back down to safety.

1  Thank TheOldMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with my husband and two children 14 and 12 we all enjoyed it. Not huge by castle standards but we found the staff friendly and knowledgeable, the printed information sheets told us enough of what we needed to know, (printed in several languages). The Hall and all its weapons was a hit with my son. The kitchens we found very interesting. I quite liked the more up to date memorabilia found in one small part of the second floor. I think people forget this is someone's home and the Duke and his family open up not just their doors but their lives,I found it interesting being of a similar age, with similar age children.
The café was pleasant enough for a cake and coffee. Even in October you can still appreciate the gardens and the setting of this lovely place.
As we left the current Duchess was walking up the drive with two children in tow, and gave us a cheery wave. I recognised her from the photos! Thank you.

1  Thank familyD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The castle looks lovely and is set in beautiful grounds overlooking the loch. The display of weapons is good, the dining room was lovely and the tapestry room was one of my favourite. Each room has information sheets. The tea room was very busy but worth a visit at the end of the tour. The end of October probably doesn't show the garden off at it's best, but the woodland walk showed beautiful autumn colours.

1  Thank Millywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed are visit to the castle. Lovely walk from Inverary and we had pre-booked tickets. Very interesting tour and friendly staff. Gardens and Woodland walk was enjoyable and we had a lovely day for it. Well stocked gift shop and we sampled the cakes and coffee in the Tearoom/Coffee. Beautiful Castle well worth a visit.

1  Thank GBradleyMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The castle is beautiful upon approach and certainly makes a good photo opportunity. The inside lower level is lovely and what you would expect of such a stunning exterior. Unfortunately the second and third floor is very disappointing.
One room in particular was virtually a modern celebration of the current Duke of Argyll with display cabinets containing HELLO magazine and other newspaper cutouts of their wedding; hobbies and social life. It felt out of place and more of an ego trip rather than of historical importance. Unfortunately there isn’t enough to merit a return trip.

Thank Almcfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews