We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home-cooking and good service”

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good home-cooking and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped in Inveraray on our way to Oban and found this tiny little restaurant. We were very pleased. Even though it was very small, there was one table we were lucky enough to get. Our server was very friendly and our food was bought to us very quickly. It was delicious! Many people tried to get in, but had to leave because no tables opened up very quickly during the lunch hour. Everything about our experience here was top-notch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    47
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this little place by chance,friendly staff and fantastic food,very resonably priced.would definately reccommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cottage restaurant inverary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

nice hot chocolate, good amenities to shop too, food expensive though but nice share if you can dont eat a cake yourself its too much a slice for one person

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very friendly service and great value for money. The mixed seafood dish in a creamy tomato sauce was to die for ! Big portion and full of seafood.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HighHeidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The menu has plenty of choice but husband opted for a angus cheeseburger and I opted for a scampi tea. For afters we had banana split and carrot cake. Including drinks the bill came to £24 which we thought was reasonable.

The decor was a bit outdated but there was service with a smile.

There are nicer places to eat in Inveraray but those also come with higher price-tags, so if you're looking for a hearty meal then The Cottage is an ideal place to come for a bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurylaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing