We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Solway House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway House B & B
Ranked #10 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during the George hotels bluebell festival, and could not speak of or recommend more highly! Great location, with views of the loch, so immaculately clean, light and airy, spacious, comfortable, with a wonderful breakfast (even homemade bread!!!) but the best thing about our stay was our wonderful hostess Marj, she couldn't have been more warm and hospitable, made us feel so welcome and at ease in her beautiful home, really did feel like a home from home and would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area. I can honestly say this is probably the best b & b I have ever stayed in and the service second to none!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the room at the back which was really great but if you are keen to have a lovely view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay at Solway House. Marj could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, as well as stylish and homely. Marj made a tasty breakfast which was enjoyed in her spacious, farmhouse style, modern kitchen. She catered superbly for meat-eating and vegetarian requirements, with delicious home-made bread too. Thanks Marj, for both the lovely stay and the lovely chats.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

what can we say that has int been said by other a great host is Marj a very clean beautiful home and breakfast was so dam good each day we were .she went out of her way to please my other half sally beds were really good showers were really powerful and to sum all things up we ever met her man rod stuart yes rod stuart would i stay there again yes i would anytime again marj thank you so much for making me and sallys time there so nice 5 stars would recomend you dont look any where else

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A beautiful B&B in every way..! We were welcomed warmly on Saturday afternoon, sadly it was misty which meant the stunning views from the front bedroom were saved for Sunday morning! Well worth the wait!

Bedrooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable in both rooms, comfy beds and generally very homely on all accounts. Breakfast (full breakfast for us on both days, we are on holiday after all!) was fantastic both mornings that we were there, fresh coffee every morning and the most scrummy homemade bread and marmalade (which I forgot to snap the recipe up for!).

We have absolutely no complaints about our stay, as above, it really did feel like a home away from home and was a truly relaxing weekend.

It has to be said, the crowning glory of this B&B is its fantastic host. She made us feel at home for every moment of our stay, if we could have brought her home with us we would have!

5 stars on all accounts..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKateWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We love Marg! She's very cosmopolitan and a bit of Renaissance woman. The king size room is huge. The biggest room you'll probably get in a small b&b in Scotland. The views of the lochs and mountains are lovely. The breakfast is tasty and so filing that we did not need to eat lunch. Marg has wonderful Scottish field magazines for your reading pleasure. There's a nice outdoor deck for chilling out. It's a short, quiet 10 minute walk to the main strip of restaurants. I would fly all the way bak to Scotland just to stay at Marg's place. I want to be her when I grow up!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JordieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Marj is a wonderful hostess, the house is fantastic, we have stayed in plenty in Australia and the uk and this is far better than most and most are really good, spacious rooms, huge bed, 5 min walk to good pub, pity Rod was away. If back this way would'nt look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more from our visit to Solway House - good location, a warm welcome to a lovely house Marj designed and a great breakfast including homemade bread. The best part was chatting to Marj about everything under the sun! Even my hard to please boyfriend was delighted with my choice of B&B.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
665 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inveraray Hostel
Inveraray Hostel
#1 of 3 in Inveraray
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway House B & B

Property: Solway House B & B
Address: The Avenue, Inveraray PA32 8YX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solway House is a recently completed Bed and Breakfast in Inveraray which beautifully combines contemporary design with a tradition feel. The accommodation comprises two bedrooms both with attractive views and en-suite shower rooms, a communal reading area between the two rooms and a striking open plan kitchen diner with access to a south facing decked area. Beauty treatments are also available on site to ensure your stay is that little bit more special and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway House B & B Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing